You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Forest Fire, Vividly Remembered

in #writing6 years ago

I know you kind of downplay your artistic ability, but I really do enjoy your pictures. Their almost '8-bit' quality has a bit of a nostalgic effect on me and they really do serve as good accompaniments to your stories. The simple design of the pictures also helps to invoke the child when reading your writing. In this one, the background turned out especially great. I live in an area that especially prone to wildfires and you captured it very well.

Sort:  

I accept what you say. I still feel foolish putting my simple pieces out. That's not self-deprecation--that's the honest truth. And yet, I'm emboldened by the pleasure of creating these simple pictures. Thanks so much for the analysis. The pictures do speak for me, and that's what art does, isn't it?

The pictures do speak for me, and that's what art does, isn't it?


Exactly. Many people hold the mistaken belief that art, in any of its forms (visual, writing, music, etc.) should only be practiced by those who are 'good' at it when really, regardless of whether or not we are good at it, it is part of what makes us human and can benefit just about anyone in some way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56