Scotch, Song, & Soul - Mabon Part I: Standoff

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I went to a Mabon festival this weekend.  A pagan holiday that marks the  Autumn Equinox, Mabon is a harvest festival. It is the time to  acknowledge the transition into longer periods of dark vs light. From  this point until the Winter Solstice, the days will grow shorter and the  nights will grow longer. Despite the turn to longer darkness, it is a  celebration of the fruits of our labors.

The Boys From That Band were the entertainment for the evening. They are  a fun group of musicians that play alternative Celtic rock. They have a  more steampunk themed song about a magical airship. "We never know  where we'll go until we're finally there..." Take a listen to  and feel the joy of freedom from expectation...  

Professor  James 

At the festival I tried a new Scotch, but I also had a chance to put  Caol Ila to the test in my first side-by-side tasting. A friend of mine  knew of my recent interest in Caol and offered to bring what remained of  his bottle to the festival so I could meet him again - this time next  to Talisker Storm.

We were camping, so we were using 8oz ball jars at a picnic table for  the tasting. The small cooking fire crackled nearby, paying homage to  one of one of my favorite flavors in a Scotch. 


In color, there was an immediate difference. Caol Ila was much paler  that Talisker. I noticed a harsher and more floral nose in the Caol than  I did when I first met him. I didn't sense the usual strong smoke from  Talisker, but I think it was partly the glass. After adding the water,  Caol's nose seemed more fruity, and the taste was good, but there were  flashes of flavors that I did not like. For a brief moment something  reminded me of the smell of hospital plastic. Thankfully, that faded  quickly. 

Talisker...was as wonderful as I remembered him. Smoky, sweet, spicy, and alive.

Caol really didn't seem to be much competition after all...but how could  I have thought them so close the other day, when it was just him that I  was tasting?

There is something that happens when you become familiar  with a flavor, or a circumstance, or probably even a person. I call it  the pleasure of familiarity. It is said familiarity can breed contempt, but there is also comfort in it (at least for a time). It's the stuff of home court  advantage, and the flip side to expectation. 

When something is new and we are still learning about it, expectations can be "premeditated disappointments." But after we already know a  thing, a different kind of expectation settles in. When we know something, we expect it to continue being as we know  it, and that is the pleasure of familiarity. 

It's the satisfaction of  an expectation - 

the expectation that a thing we enjoy remains as we know it to be.

The more familiar we are we something, the stronger this effect can be. I  think this is a big reason why, when placed side-by-side, Caol seemed  much different than I remembered. While I'm sure he is a fine and fun  fellow, I think at our first meeting I was only picking up on the  aspects of him that reminded me of the one I am most familiar with -  that being Talisker.  But when the original creator of the familiarity  of those flavors was available for immediate comparison, the subtle  differences became vast and undeniable. 

This begs the question though - do we enjoy something in and for itself,  or do we enjoy it because it is familiar and therefore satisfying of  expectation? And if the latter, how far can something stray from true  enjoyment before we realize it through the rose-colored glasses of  familiarity? Or am I putting an unfair twist on the pleasure of  familiarity; does it matter why we feel enjoyment from something or only that we do? 

I think the answer, as with most things, lies somewhere in the middle.  As the length of the days and nights wax and wane through the year, so  does the effect of the familiar on our enjoyment of something. I believe  the effect is powerful and honest, but it can delay the awareness of a  fading pleasure. Something like how even after the Winter Solstice, when  the days begin to grow longer again, the weather will still get colder  at first. It takes time for the shift to bring the days and nights into  balance again and allow for the warmth to return.  

The Solstice is still months away, though, so we have only just begun  our journey into colder days. For now, we celebrate the seasons, the  harvest, and all the joys of life, no matter how fleeting they may be.

Visit the blog: http://singlemaltmuse.blogspot.com

Having given up the search for the perfect partner, I am not on a journey to find the perfect Scotch. Come join me! 

Check out the other recent posts from Scotch, Song, & Soul:

Lowlands

Bowmore Tempest


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65771.81
ETH 3174.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61