My First Novel

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

I have been writing as long as I can remember. That's a lot of years, and you'd think by now I would have something more to show for it, but I've got a list of excuses as to why I don't. Regardless of that, what I do have - preserved very carefully in a small sandwich-sized ziploc bag - is the only copy of my very first novel.

20171025_154423.jpg

It was published by the homemade company (or the family company, depending on which cover you read). It was hand printed on authentic green construction paper with black ball point pen. Both written and illustrated by yours truly, this book has it all - love, romance, bravery, tragedy, suspense, diversity, fantasy, and a cliffhanger ending.

It's also chock-full of grammatical and spelling errors, due to the lack of editing resources available to my 8-year-old self. But I must say, it's probably the most stable story-arc I've ever executed...so there's that. Finally, regarding the psychoanalysis that I can do on my younger self, regarding the story line...well, I'll just let y'all have fun with that one.

Anyway, I thought it was time to bring this original masterpiece to the world - so I've carefully uploaded images to publish on the blockchain. Also, I've edited some in the captions, for your sanity. Without further ado, I present -

The Cat and Dog Who Loved Each Other

20171025_154000.jpg

As you can see, this book was written 32 years ago, almost to the day!

20171025_154103.jpg

"One day a cat named Cindy looked through a wall that kept her from getting out."

20171025_154201.jpg

"She saw something! It was a puppy! She was frightened! Then she looked closely. She loved him! She was only a kitten, but she still loved him. Then the puppy woke up. He saw her; he loved her!"

20171025_154222.jpg

"Then because the wall was so old it began to fall apart. Quickly the kitten jumped through the hole. The dog jumped back and got Cindy's toys. Cindy was glad!"

20171025_154243.jpg

"But not so glad. She didn't know if the dog's master would let her stay with him. But the dog's master did. Since he couldn't find the cat's owner. The cat and dog asked each what their name was. The cat said Cindy; the dog said John."

20171025_154257.jpg

"Then the dog and cat grew. Cindy had kittens. A dog named Penny moved in next door. He had puppies. And you never know, because this is the end. Did those kittens and puppies fall in love too?"

20171025_154310.jpg

The world may never know...


Thanks for visiting!

rsz_uniwhisp02.png Logo courtesy of @theDGT

For posts on emotions, nature, poetry, and scotch,

come follow my blog!

Sort:  

The illustrations, the story, I love this. Cute :-)

Thank you so much!

That's so sweet!

Thanks, Sun. <3

I guess no one told them about the birds and the bees yet.

Haha, no my 8-year-old self was blissfully ignorant of such things. ;)

This is so awesome! You should introduce a certain chimera-faced puppy to a certain chimera-faced cat and see if they love each other!

I can dream, but I'm pretty sure I know how the meeting would turn out IRL. Sigh...

I absolutely LOVE THIS! I think if it's read to a young child today, they would love it, too.
I am really glad you published this. Thank you.

Aww, thanks @jonknight for your kind words! I'm glad you enjoyed it. :D

This is the best thing I've read on steemit yet. Hand's down, absolutely the best. I have things from when I was that age that look similar around here somewhere. Touched my heart. So good.

Aww, thanks @sircork. <3

Such a cute story! So cool to find old stories and art from our past. :)

Aww, thank you! Yeah...the nostalgia is sweet. :)

Love, suspense, illustrations. It has it all. Love it. Print it. Publish it.

Haha! I think it'd definitely have to go through a round at the Writers Block first.. ;)

This is not what I was expecting to see. :D But wow this is so cute! It's so nice to get back to these beautiful childhood stories sometimes. Thanks for sharing!

Haha, yeah...I guess it was a little click-baity ;) Hopefully sooner rather than later I'll have an actual novel to post, but it's a long ways off. Thanks for visiting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34