I long for my childhood

in #writing7 years ago

large (74).jpg

I long for my childhood.

I long for
the sound of joyful laughter
and
the playful screams
stilled by crashing waves.

I long
for my wild imagination
and creative ideas
that led to the building of plastic parachutes
and paper homes
for my stuffed friends.

I long for
tea parties with my sister
and water wars with my father.

I long for
the fearful wonder that I felt
when thunder roared
and lightning flashed in the dark
and my mother's comforting voice,
her soothing touch
as she put me to bed
and tucked me in.

I long for
the days of exploring
and climbing trees
and when scraped knees
and splinters
were my only pains.

I long for
the days of wanting to be older
and when growing up
was a very attractive alternative
to being
too young
too short
too childish
and too little.

I long for
my childhood.

Sort:  

Hey, would you be interested in allowing me to post your poem on my account? You will be given complete credit for making the poem. Also, you will receive 25% of anything made off of the post (25% of the SBD). If you are interested, just let me know!

SHOOT I meant 50% of the SBD.

Congratulations @umperfectpoet! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61029.99
ETH 3375.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48