A poem I wrote in my days of substance abuse and depression

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I found this poem along with some other texts I wrote when I was a dark place.  Years have passed and things are looking good for me now. No more drugs and less psychological hardship (although my OCD is still prominent). I have a nice place to live, a caring girlfriend and I'm starting my master's degree this fall, which is why I feel confident with these words leaving my notebook and traveling into the world. Thank you for reading, Steemit.


 photo IMG_4651.jpg

Photo I took around the same time I wrote this poem.

House of Mirth

shrink, shrink my problems

swallow my pride, my being

my lust for breathing

this state has no law

no power to immerse

no crime to commit

senselessness, nothingness


burst my bubble, for it is only an illusion

soap can't wash away cleanliness

defect at birth, repaired by night

new dawn, more numbness


reflected in darkness 

the soul stands forth

bring your lightbulbs

illuminate the void

leave this place

before it devours us

consumes us, replaces us


blow me a bubble, for it is the last of its kind

one in seven billion 

defect at birth, broken by night

no dawn, no numbness


- Kent

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing. No capitals makes it more moving.

Thank you. I thought it fitting as well. Great username :)

✨ burst those bubbles ! ✨ I really enjoyed your INTRO going with your poem ! Stay well ! It's well worth it !

This made me tear up :( Beautifully written. I'm so happy you're in a better state of mind now. Now I need to go find someone to hug. <3

Thank you very much. I hope it's a great, loving hug <3

The picture feels like Oslo :D Wery powerful poem! It makes me feel like trying to grasp hold on somthing outside of fear. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you, Camilla!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59715.05
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42