Love you to the moon and back - mtnmeadowmomma 's Writing CONTEST

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

luna.jpg

When you have spent your life rescuing Furpeople like I have, it is hard to say there was or is one favourite dog in your life. My Furchildren are just as much loved by me as my biological progeny and all are loved equally. I will however today tell you about one special dog in my life her name was Luna and she was amazing.

At the time I was living in my favorite city- Berlin Germany, my daughter had just come home for good from rehabilitation, after she had suffered a stroke at the age of 12. I thought it might be nice to get my George a companion of his own species and Morgaine my daughter might enjoy the company of a puppy. At my vets there was a note left on the cork board for Rottweiler/ German Shepherd Mixes the pups looked adorably fat so I thought it could not hurt to go see them. I called the number on the paper and the guy said to come on over.

13879402_10209963437423451_8499131663263916171_n.jpg

Directly from the vet I took the tram and underground to the address given, the guy was not there. It was early spring and people were sitting out in the courtyard of the housing complex in question. I decided to wait a while. A Turkish family offered me a seat at their foldable camping table and we fell into easy conversations about current events and food. After a few hours I decided it was time to go home but wanted to leave a note on the guy's door before I left. Up the three flights of stairs I went and just as I was finished writing the note a guy with a beautiful huge well kept Rottweiler (Luna's mom) and a German Shepard (Luna's dad) came up the flight of stairs; it was our guy.

13882258_10209963434263372_2420078507244597750_n.jpg

When I told him who I was he told me to wait and as he opened the thick wooden door a stench like death hit my face. The smell was so bad it made me retch, but as bad as the smell was nothing could have prepared me for what came next. After a minute or two the guy held an emaciated male puppy by the scruff of its neck out the door. In shock all I could utter was that I was actually wanting a girl. The door closed then opened and a female puppy, in the same horrid condition, was held toward me through the cracked door. I grabbed her and the guy said "give me 50" and “they haven’t eaten for 2 days” The audacity of the obvious lie just infuriated me but I kept my demeanour calm and just said “ I will give you 20 thats it". He took the money and before he could slam the door on me I asked him how old she was and he told me she was born Jan 8th, just like my George. This means that the poor shaking puppy in my arms was already 3 months old,even though she barely looked 2 months, god knows how long she had been suffering like this.

The poor puppy smelled like a rotting corpse and on the ride to my vet, as she needed medical attention asap, people gave me the dirtiest looks. God knows what these people thought of me here I was carrying a puppy who smelled like she had been sleeping in carrion and feces for months and was literally only skin and skeleton. It was a miracle that nobody punched me in the face considering how horribly the poor baby looked. We got to my vet and even he was shocked at the condition she was in. During her checkup we decided to go back for the others with the help from some rescue friends. No puppy was left behind we even took out 2 cats. All of them survived. This was how Luna became my child and how she became one of the great loves of my life.

13729122_10209963435863412_6312590941435728120_n.jpg

It took Luna a few weeks to recover but she did, she and George bonded instantaneously as well as her and the cats. Luna was a miracle she was not only smart, she understood 3 languages and not only commands but full sentences, but she also had a calming effect on my rambunctious George. Luna never needed a leash and the only time she wore one was when they were required for the wider public and in the transit system. This dog loved and mothered everything. In her life she fostered puppies, kittens, bunnies , rats and human babies, treating each like they were her own. She was very calm natured but would break out in wild happy dances if you presented a tennis ball to her. Playing fetch was her favourite, it filled her with so much joy one could almost see it flowing out of her into the ground. It is hard to explain just how much I loved her my heart becomes heavy when I think about the Luna shaped hole in in my life. One of the flats I rented in Berlin was next to a tennis court and I once talked them into giving me all the dead balls they had it was a whole trash bag full. When I presented them to her and George I thought she would bounce off to the moon so fast was her spiralling little dance so large her delight.

13654296_10209963434623381_1136551350608463549_n.jpg

When I moved to America George and Luna stayed with a friend at the North Sea and when I finally had a home for us they both came to the U.S by plane. Luna was a constant in my life, my rock, my side kick. She moved with me and George across the country. She comforted me when George was stolen from our yard never to be seen again. Walked the street with me looking for him, as I was howling his name tears running out of my eyes like never ending streams of grief. She tried to protect me when my ex beat me, but listened when I told her to stay as I did not want her to get hurt. She laid with me in that room my ex locked me in with my broken leg for months. She moved with me to safety away from him helped me raise, foster and rehabilitate cats dogs and street kids I took into my home. She gave me so much joy and helped me through so much grief, a world without her was impossible unthinkable.

13873005_10209963435823411_6867824429957397924_n.jpg

After 12 years of being a part of my very soul a neighbour put poisoned food out in my yard. This had happened a few month before almost claiming my jubilee, but jubilee was much younger and against the prognosis and after a two week battle pulled through. Luna was not so Lucky I tried so hard the doctor gave her the same medications, I gave her IV fluids at home desperate to repeat the success of Jubilees recovery. I hardly slept or ate. This could not be happening, all stages of grief were at play here, my world was going up in flames. I must have nodded off in exhaustion and I woke up my arms wrapped around the discarded hull of one of the greatest souls I ever was blessed to know. While I dreamt, while I was away in some other reality, my baby drew her last breath and fled the confinement of the material. To this day thinking of her passing causes my chest to constrict and my soul to grow heavy. To this day I cannot look at a tennis ball and not think of her. If there is an afterlife she is one of the souls I long to have greet me. A parent should not outlive their children sadly when you adopt those outside your species it is the price you have to pay for the incredible joy they bring. My inner world has two moons-one the cool white marble we all know and see on our little rock in space, the other dog shaped circling my very essence for eternity. There is this book I used to read to my daughter where a bunny asks it’s parent how much they love them and their answer is my answer to my much mourned and missed companion “how much do I love you ?- To the Moon and back”. Or to say it in the Immortal words of Snape -Always!

a.jpg
b.jpg
(pictures taken a day before her death on the way home from the vet I think deep down I knew she was leaving and took as many as I could )

c.jpg
(Last shots of Luna a few hours before her passing)

Sort:  
Loading...

Oh, what a beautiful and heart wrenching story! You two went through so much together, I can see how it would be unthinkable for her to be gone. Thank you for sharing Luna's story with us <3

Thank you for your kind words :)

This is a nice story,i can't imagine how you felt when Luna died,thanks for sharing.

My heart just sunk after reading this story. I can only imagine the grief you went through. Just know that Luna is in a better place now and nothing will ever replace the memories you had with her. Such a bittersweet story.

Thank you for your kind words.

Oh god, luna fly to the sky with the rest of the Ángels.😔😥

This is really touching...my family lost a dog once ..its a sad experience when the dog is already part of your life..so sorry about Luna.

Nice Post, I will upvote you!
If you want more votes you

can read here / https://steewit.com/steemiteducation/@goldendawne/upvote-exchange-on-steem-follower-lacking-categories-and-time-to-boot-it-up-here

about Upvote exchange and other things!

The dog has one excellent mental quality - she remembers kindness. She guards the house of her benefactors until her death. I liked your post. Have a nice day.

More than half of all U.S. presidents have owned dogs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 63260.19
ETH 3025.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50