From Steem into infinity Steemdreams edition - or if I was a whale - @luanne 's WHAT IS YOUR STEEM DREAM? Contest.

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

PicMonkey Collage2.jpg

If I was a whale I would lay in the deep blue sea drink VODKA and eat plankton all day … ok JK. I obsess over this a lot actually so here is my answer- There would be a ton of stuff I would do as whale, for myself, The furry residents living with me, the wider animal community, the physical community I live in and the steam community. Let's get started:

1930079_1118740129619_358107_n.jpg

For Myself :

As whale I would fist fix my house. Finally warm water (I have been living without for years now and in winter it really sux). I would choose an efficient tankless model as they work great and leave a smaller carbon footprint than conventional systems. I would fix the bathroom floor where the toilet caved in and turn the whole thing into a wet room. Then I would have my leaking roof fixed, as it is no fun to try to catch incoming rain in a storm with pots and buckets, no matter how romantic it looks in movies. A copper roof would be magnificent.

Next I would rip off the vinyl siding on my house, which is a soul crushing abomination! fix the wood underneath and paint the house robin egg blue embellished with murals made by myself and a rainbow border on the bottom portion. The porch railing would get the rainbow treatment as well and yes it is also a political statement as well as an artistic one proud member of the LGBTQIA community here!

After that I would get a real state of the art kitchen with great storage for herbs and spices as well as medicinal herbs, as well as large bulk storage, (this would be built I a new wing as it would be a shared kitchen of a wider project. (And no currently I do not have a kitchen. I know I live in complete barbary).

And for the joy of it I would also build myself a recording studio, get a new laptop and built an atelier where I could paint (with a stock of all materials , pigments and brushes I one could think of). I would get myself a housekeeper to make things easier for myself as my illness is progressing and some things really are not easy for me anymore. I would install a rain collection system, solar panels and a wind turbine to become 100 off grid.

spacer.jpg

a.jpg
a.jpg

(Image credits top myself bottom Catfancy and )

My Fur Family:

If I were big fat whale I would buy the rotting decaying house next door and tear it down. The land would be split up between my community projects and more space for the fur people living here. I would build 4 mini play yards that could be accessible at all times so that each play group could go outside whenever they wanted, through doggie doors in new extended and revamped living spaces. I would no longer have to do the crate rotation game but be able to split the dogrooms in safe large pens. Having the doggie door in each of the pens leading to their own mini yards would give them well deserved freedom to go outside when they felt like it and no longer be dependant on having to wait for me/or their turn to go out.

I would get a wheelchair for Mooburt( who had a stroke and because of that issues with his back legs as well as hip dysplasia); and build a mini deck with ramp in the large play yard so my pooches (most seniors) would not have to struggle with the steps that much anymore. I would install my claw foot tub from the 1900's on the deck to have an outside bathtub (how fun), but also to be able to bath the pooches and not have to worry about getting the whole house messed up. The deck itself it would also make it easier for me to be with the kids out back as my own physical abilities are becoming progressively limited. It would give us more quality time together.

My dogs love water so I would also love to build a shallow mini pool for them in the back to lounge in in summer or maybe even a container pool so I could sit in it with them :D

For the cats I would build a two story catio that would wrap around the most of the house to expand their outdoor space while keeping them safe. In the cat-room I would instal climbing walls and a cat wheel. hanging cat bridges and facilities all over the house to make life a lot more fun for them and extend their space.

spacer.jpg

b.jpg

The wider animal community:

I would build a mini barn on part of the neighbouring property (that I bought :D) and rescue 2 pigs 2 mini donkeys, some chickens, ducks and maybe a goat or two. I would buy the empty loft behind the neighbouring property and give them a large space to play in.

Another ting close to my heart would be to create pet food bank to help people in the neighbourhood that might need help feeding their animals. In our economy today many people give up their no human family members because they can no longer afford to feed them. I would love to offer a better solution.

Another part of my whaldom wealth would be put towards donating to other animal rescues and sanctuaries as well as education on, and promoting veganism. animal agriculture is one of the most volatile businesses today. It causes immense suffering to non human animal kind, is one of the major forces killing our planet and a major player in the world hunger epidemic. One of the most ethical choice a person can make at this point in history is to go plant based!

spacer.jpg

My Physical Community:

As fat whale would buy the 2 empty houses across from my house as well as the empty property next to them. One house, which is ugly I would tear down. The other, another approximately 100 year old gem, I would renovate and turn it into a totally energy independent guest/ logging house for the wider project. On the property on which I tore the other house down on, I would build a series of off grid tiny houses. These would be offered for minimal rent, or rent free to people wanting to help the larger project long term. On the empty lot next to the two I would build a community garden with a green house where my project would grow it’s food; but also where the wider community, who might not have a yard, could sign up for a mini plot to grow their own food as well.

There is a hotel in Thailand, the Phranakorn Nornlen Hotel in Bangkok, that very much inspires me with it’s setup, rooms, gardens and eating spaces. Taking inspiration from that hotel I would use the space on the plot next to my house that was not used by my furkids to build a two story community centre/cafe/ food bank/ tech centre/ library/ boarding house. My kitchen would be a shared kitchen with the cafe, where we would serve low cost plant based meals as well as Free soup once a day. On the opposite side of the kitchen there would be two rooms one holding the non human and human food bank the second a small community library as well as 2 computers and a printer to give people without tech the opportunity to use the net.The library would also hold a job bank database where people could offer services against services or items they need. There would also be a small lavatory.

The side wall of the dining room would have sliding doors opening up to a garden visitors could enjoy, eat work and spend time in. In summer the doors on that wall would be completely open. basically making the dining hall an open airy space. Upstairs there would be 4 small rooms and a communal bathroom that would be offered to staff rent free. 2 times a week I would love to hold courses in the main room where we could pass on tips and assist the planning of helping other in the community become energy independent ect.

About 5 houses down from me there is a building that sometimes it is used as a church but mostly it is empty. If possible I would try to buy it and turn it into a laboratory and workshop where things for the project, the wider community ect could be built and invented. I would also hope to find people that would be willing to help me finish my late uncle’s research or/ and expand on it.

One house down from the house next to me, or where the community centre would be located is another old house. I would love to buy that one and turn it into a free community clinic and vet office as well as a small store where people in the community could put crafts and goods for sale into commission.

Eventually I would also like to open a school based on the free school concept. And offer kids an alternative to the horrible public school system we have here. It would be a small school with mixed grade classes. I would make sure that neighborhood kids had equal opportunity to attend. The curriculum would also include life skills, coding and their own little vegetable garden. Something I would love to offer there would be a digitally integrated classroom meaning allowing one or two children with terminal illnesses or illness preventing them to leave the home to attend remotely via robotic proxy ( interesting article here ), as well as communal projects with schools all over the world via the web.

Another thing I really would like to introduce in the project once things are running smoothly would be paying system built on steem (steem debit cards and readers). People could get them at the centre and use them to buy the meals, pay library late fees and the goods from the store via steem. The incentive would be that everything sold would be 10% cheaper with steem, as I really would love to not feed the corrupt monetary system more than I have to.

spacer.jpg

The steem community:

I have said this before but I will say it again, Steemit is potentially a lot more than just creating content and getting paid for it. I see widespread applicability in various fields. As whale I would help promote, upvote and finance projects ranging from scientific research, to community projects, from social education projects (like the send used tech to Nigerian student’s that I am currently trying to organise together with @masterpiz) to art projects. One of the conditions for full support would be however, that if if full financing is reached through the platform and other promotion that whatever created would be made available open source and/or under creative commons to the wider world community. Enterprises and individuals that bring value to the platform but are not open source or creative commons would receive support but not to the extent I would be supporting the others.

I would definitely curate as whale, support, and host an array of contests for, content. An official Steem idea think tank would be great where people could put up problems that needed solving and others in the community could pool together to come up with the best solution. The person asking the question could put up a steem incentive but also be rewarded by the greater community for a valuable question. The person or team solving the question or problem would get a part of the reward pool as well.

If my physical community program gains wings I would also love to help others around the globe build their own versions and interconnect them all with a database and cloud based library where they could all support each other with knowledge and resources. Maybe later one could even create an economy where select unique goods could be traded amongst communities and skilled professionals cold come and assist with individual projects across the communities.

Last but no least I would love to see Steem TV happen where people like @davidpakman and other independent journalists could stream live news feeds, but also user made original series and movies could be broadcasted. As whale I would be all over these things allocate steempower and steem ect.

spacer.jpg

Disclaimer at the time that I am writing this post my influence is at 50 this might change during the course of this contests ass I am at the edge of 51 . So we come to an end, I know that all of the above is a lot but you said talk about your steem dream and what good are dreams if they are not big! We need the exceptional to shine as beacon as we make our way through the everyday mediocre…

For the fun of it I leave you with my Minnow ballad -Enjoy !

1146410_626398614061443_1547687283_o.jpg

Sort:  

You do have a good heart.
I wish you were a whale....

Thank you :)

Wow!!! That's pretty .......just wow!! You're very ambitious!!

Better have an everest of aspirations and just get halfway there then a molehill and sit on it all your life ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57408.28
ETH 3079.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31