How do high IQ people study?

in #writing7 years ago

In college, I read about my favorite author, Isaac Asimov, when he went to school. He said that when he studied, he would take the first week and read ALL his textbooks, cover to cover. While everyone else was meeting, and partying, he isolated himself and simply read. I decided to do try that too. I read all the assigned textbooks. A lot I did not understand. Much was Greek to me. I didn't know what was important or not or what I was supposed to glean from the readings. Some I got. Some I didn't.

But then something happened. When I went to classes, the teacher would lecture... and I would understand a lot more than my peers. They thought I was a genius, but it was just that I had read ahead. Most students didn't read their assignments until AFTER the lectures and because of that much of what they heard was lost. Somehow, perhaps by the reading, I understood more. I had read but not understood, but I was somehow primed for his explanations and found that what I had read before, I now made sense. Sometimes I could see where he was going. How this current chapter led to the next. In history class, I could see how this event would lead to that next one that my classmates did not know was coming.

While most of my classmates struggled and were lost and confused, I found that everything I did was basically review. I found I could frame more intelligent questions, and the instructor gave more meaningful answers. Indeed, many lectures consisted of the professor having a conversation with me in the front row, while everyone else listened, often confused and lost (they were often unwilling witnesses of unseen events). The instructor was grateful that SOMEONE 'got it'.

Thereafter, I did this every term.

Where I had entered college afraid I would fail and drop out. I found myself excelling far beyond my peers. I changed my major from biology to physics... and completed my coursework in two years. My third year I worked at Argonne National Laboratories as an undergraduate research assistant. My senior year, I transferred to University of Illinois and earned a second bachelors degree in Electrical Engineering, in only three semesters.

I attribute my success to 'reading ahead'... and I read voraciously to this day.

I have averaged a book a day, every day, for thirty years and work in my den with 30,000 books. One wall fiction; the other wall technical. I have found I am fascinated by EVERYTHING and am an eclectic and eternal student. I teach graduate school and write. I consult and continue to 'read ahead'... life is a classroom. I continue to ask questions endlessly and will never stop learning.

How do high IQ people study?

By asking questions endlessly, reading extensively, and going wherever your curiosity takes you. Enjoy the journey. Curiosity is the greatest gift that you do not want to waste.

Sort:  

Nearly everything you do is of no importance, but it is important that you do it.

- Mahatma Gandhi

You are very correct thats my favorite author

Following you!

Congratulations @tybello! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94