You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Australian Gothic: Short Story

in #writing6 years ago

This is superbly written. Interestingly, the parsis in India also leave the body of the dead to be picked by vultures. Unfortunately, the vultures have all but disappeared around the urban parts of the country. And in the highrises of Bombay, people would find a crow on their window with a human body part or two!

Sort:  

Thanks so much!!! I didn't see you'd read and commented on this one. One of my few readers! I really appreciate it. I feel a bit sad it didn't get much readership but maybe I'll put it up as a deadpost in a few months time. Crows are really really smart - they learn so much. That's a really creepy story though - I'd put that one in my head for a later story! I didn't know that about the parsis. I love the idea of it. We are just food for animals, really. I'd love a sky burial! Either the fishes, the birds or the worms. It's all the same. Back into nature with us!

Whereabouts do you live? Can you link me to your introduceyourself post? :)

For you are dust, and to dust you shall return

Every religion has the same philosophy of 'returning us to the sender'! Only the method of 'repatriation' varies!

That is a predicament I often face while posting on Steemit. You can earn money here, but like the real world, money queered the pitch. On Facebook I might not earn anything, but I have 2000 people on my friend list, and at least some of them will read it! And the likes and comments I receive there are not monetary related. People do it for the heck of it.

I now post on Steemit, not to earn, but simply to interact with people who have similar interests in reading, writing, cycling and motorcycling! I would any day take a considered comment over a 'bot' upvote.

I will do one better. I will link you to two introduceyourself posts. I am after all a two post monkey :D

The original: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@twowheeledmonkey/hello-from-india

The re-birth: https://steemit.com/story-mentor/@twowheeledmonkey/story-mentor-introduction-of-a-monkey-on-two-wheels

And as a bonus for reading till here, a story about the city i live in (PS: It doesn't have any butt pictures!) https://steemit.com/story-mentor/@twowheeledmonkey/my-bedroom-tales-of-yore

I didn't find an introduction post for flowing rivers on your blog page. Did i miss it? Okay, strike that. Found it. It wasn't your first post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28