Falling in love...

in #writing7 years ago

Falling in love...

Love_What_is_It.JPG
Source

"Tis better to have loved and lost then to have not loved at all" - Alfred, Lord Tennyson

An oft repeated phrase by the experienced lot to heartbroken youngsters. After allowing time to heal all wounds, I cannot help but fully agree and endorse that belief.

This is the story of how I fell in love for the very first time while in college:

I was walking to the railway station to catch my train home after spending a few hours immersed in a variety of books at the library. My brain buzzing with the energy of the stories I had been reading. As a matter of habit I bought a burger while entering the station.

Being a bit of a geek, the grey matter in my skull tended to rule my life with logic and rationale rather than vague emotions like love. As such, it made perfect sense to eat my burger in two big bites, rather than getting my hands dirty (thereby removing the need of washing my hands as well!). What has this got to do with love? Well, we are getting there. Slowly, but surely.

Before the story continues let's step back and look at the urban scenery. A railway station which is a terminus at peak office hours in one of the most crowded cities of the world, Bombay. Being a terminus, every train at the platform headed in only one direction - north. Rush hour meant that every single person was homeward bound, walking towards the train and as such facing north. The entire mass of humanity pointed in one direction living their lives in the everyday rat race.

Churchgate.jpg
Source

In the midst of all this was this very @twowheeledmonkey with a burger stuffed in his mouth!

I walked along with thousands of others towards the train when I noticed something odd. There was one person facing the wrong way around. Wow, who was that weirdo I thought? As I walked closer I realised she was the prettiest girl in my class. Lo and behold, she was looking in my direction. My heart was pounding in my chest. And then she gave the most dazzling smile imaginable. I looked over my shoulder to see who she was smiling at.

heart-799138_1280.jpg
Source

Miracle of miracles, her radiance was directed at me. My legs turned to jelly and brain to sawdust as I reached within earshot of her. She said hi and I forgot that my mouth was still stuffed with a burger and as I tried to utter an intelligent response I almost choked myself to non-existence! Though in my geeky defence I did manage a feeble wave.

She waved back and said something (to this day I have no idea what!). All that I could do was stand there with one hand mid-wave staring at her like a moron.

The most beautiful girl in the whole wide world. I was smitten. There she was standing, the girl of my dreams. No makeup on her face, long ethnic earrings, a plain black kurta, blue denims and white kolhapuris. Never had I seen a college girl dressed up in such simple attire.

Somehow I managed to pick my jaw from the floor, make some stupid excuse about being late and ran away.

It's been a decade. She is no more the girl I fell in love with. She is now the woman I am in love with…

Sort:  

How lovely...so she and you are married? I am with the same man many years and we are very happy. I enjoyed your story. What great idea perhaps I will write about meeting my husband. :)

Glad you liked the story and even happier that you would like to write your own.

Ah. No

As the opening line of the story goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67