TRAVELMAN in CAMBODIA: What it felt like to visit Tuel Sleng Genocide Museum and The Killing Fields

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

I do not feel I can write a post about this trip unless it is completely through the lens of my experience. You will not get a history lesson here of the genocide committed by the Khmer Rouge in the 1970’s. Plenty of great books have been written by survivors and historians, and you can find countless web pages detailing this horrific atrocity. They do a better job than me at recounting an accurate history.

61755DF8-D55D-4E42-AF83-CFE6D29999D8.jpeg

Neither will you get a how to guide of visiting these sites. This post is an account of my day, what I saw, what I felt, and what I thought. I hope it gives you a taste of what you’re in for upon your visit.

This is a difficult post to write. It’s not easy finding the right tone. I did not experience these horrors, I haven’t experienced anything that resembles what happened in these places. What happened in these places makes me wonder if hell exists on earth, popping up in pockets of the globe like a fly-by-night terror circus that overextends its unwelcome run. A place that behaves in accordance to its very nature, hell; it dams the innocent, and turns the guilty, the perpetrators, into corporeal demons.

49914E9A-DEEC-42B0-B612-10E821B715AF.jpeg

After visiting these sights, I feel as though my life has always been an endless day at a giant water park. I’ve suffered the pain of a long wait to go down the slides, and gotten some water up my nose, maybe gotten a cramp because I went back in the water too soon after eating my ice-cream, but other than that, it’s been fun in the sun. Every soul does not get the gift of life in a water park. I now have a greater sense of how deep the depths of despair can go, and how far above those places I live.

Shit can get real evil. I knew this in an intellectual manner, I’ve seen documentaries, I’ve read books... Being in this place brought the death to life.

B5300549-59F1-481F-9446-61813707AC4A.jpeg

In the brief research I did for my visit to the city of Phnom Penh, I came across many postings about the Tuol Sleng Genocide Museum, also known as S21. It was a high school, a place of learning, before it became a place of unspeakable torture under the Khmer Rouge.

All of these websites showed a similar picture. The typical photo is of a metal bed without a mattress. The bed is inside a small empty room with checkered tiles- Seems innocuous enough. I didn’t know what it represented and why variations of the picture came up so often.

I’m not going to share that photo here. I took one, and a couple more not knowing that it was against the rules. I think this is what usually happens with visitors and thus why the iron bed frame in the empty room is the common photo. Like me, visitors arrive ready to take photos to commemorate their visit. And they do snap pics for the first couple minutes, until, like me, they notice the signs outside the entrance ways that indicate no photo taking or shooting of video. The Museum also has signs indicating that laughing is against the rules. It would be hard to break that last rule.

27428FCD-75CB-4A1F-BAA4-E3C2BBBA9DCA.jpeg

By the time I visited the third room, I didn’t want to take any more photos. It felt small and shallow to do so. I felt my photos and the sharing of them would somehow disrespect the memory of the victims. This place had too much meaning, the energy everywhere asked you to remember, to learn, and to live with a watchful eye for embers hidden under ash. Embers that weak yet well intended men stoke into a flame. The flame grows into a fire and the men think it will be of use. They think they will contain it, but the fire alway turns wild, burning everything it touches until there’s nothing left to burn.

A5C4D790-D648-4531-BC66-E86C81D23475.jpeg

Innocent men, women, and children were tortured and murdered in these rooms. Tortured on the wire beds on display, shackled to the rusty shackles. A small tin box rested a top each bed. These were defecation boxes. Other rooms had no beds. In these rooms, human beings were shackled to straight iron bars, lined up in rows like sardines. In each room hung a blurry, black and white photograph of the bodies left behind by the fleeing murderers.

Most all visitors buy the audio tour with their entrance ticket. This leaves most everyone walking around in silence, listening, stepping outside to sit on a bench, to sit and process, and sometimes to cry in a quiet place.

757551ED-4CA0-4946-B55A-94B27C2F33A8.jpeg

Mugshot type processing photos of hundreds of victims are posted on bulletin boards in some of the rooms. One of these boards displayed pics of a handful of intellectuals who were processed and murdered in these rooms. A man in one of the mugshots had a slight smile on his face. Out of the hundreds of photos of the murdered, his was the only with slightly upturned lips. I wondered if he had any idea what was in store for him. I wonder if it was a defense mechanism of denial. I don’t know, but I will always remember that photo and his face.

Toward the end of the tour, outside the gift shop (which I found terribly out of place), two authors sat behind tables with copies of their books on display. They were survivors of the prison and were there to autograph their book and have photos taken with whoever bought their book. I found this to be so strange. I wondered what could possess them to sit all afternoon in a place that brought them such incredible pain. Was it simply financial hardship, or did it help them heal?

D78C8D50-46C7-4C4E-A01C-B2655A42B77E.jpeg

I felt like the air around me was heavier by the time I reached these men. I was on my way to becoming numb. My empathy stores were temporarily depleted. I felt serious, as though there was no humor in the world. How can there be with the evil that men do?

E2446F22-0CBD-4CC9-8A51-4637F9C9D21B.jpeg

So I decided to take some photos, so that I could remember and never forget. I didn’t want to take photos of the memorials and exteriors that visitors were permitted to take. I chose to take photos of the life that grows there. Photos reminding me of the beauty, the elegance, and the persistence of life. I wanted to remember the resilience we possess to grow in the ever-present face of death. The photos in this post represent new life growing where a circus of horrors had once pounded its stakes into the ground. It helped me get out of there with some sense of hope for humanity.

544238A6-904C-4C9E-81E5-B1491A0A0C00.jpeg

Afterward, we visited The Killing Fields. I stepped on a white rock-like fragment in the dirt of the path. Moments later, the audio tour informed me that bone fragments are still surfacing throughout the fields, including the walkways. It was a human skull fragment upon which I’d stepped.

Everyone in the tuk tuk was numb by the end. It was a quiet, somber ride back to the hostel.

0412EDBA-B7F1-4536-B10B-67B7DFAE7315.jpeg

I hope this post didn’t come off as too lofty and pretentious. I’m not used to writing without joking and this subject matter sent me to a dancehall full of fancy thoughts with which to twirl and flirt. Feeling like this makes me wax poetic whether I like it or not because comedy is not an option.

Thanks for reading and enjoy every day you visit one of life’s water parks...

!steemitworldmap 11.5496 lat 104.9178 long What it felt like to visit Tuel Sleng Genocide Museum andThe Killing Fields, Cambodia, d3scr

Sort:  

all the horror happened from men killing and torturing other men, in all over this tiny planet, are just unbearable to me... We, here, in our everyday confort, we don't even know how painful it is to survive just some thousands miles away... So, thank you for telling, us, thank you for letting us know, thank you for making us more acknowledging and less ignoring... Thank you so much.

Places like that are good to force you to acknowledge the atrocities happening in the past and present.

and not forget... I'm born in Viet Nam. I don't forget... And you help us to finally, enjoy our every day minutes of happiness. Thanks again.

Never forget. The Vietnamese also underwent horrific and unbearable suffering at the hands of an insane military regime. Not by the Khmer Rouge, but by the USA.

Of course, just as love cannot be compared, neither can evil be compared. But anyone who realizes the sufferings and horror that were inflicted on your people can only be appalled at the actions of the perpetrators.

Apart from that, I have the utmost respect for the way that both the Vietnamese and the Cambodians have moved on, have (for the most part) forgiven the perpetrators, and have looked onwards go more LIFE.

Never forget the horror, and always remember "Life."

forgiveness IS the key to true Happiness... A healed heart is a heart capable of forgiveness. thank you for your so beautiful message, Mages.tytyty

So true. And on a practical level, if a victim does not forgive the aggressor or continues to hate the aggressor, the victims hurts nobody except himself.

Once he forgives, he begins to heal. Once he begins to love, he is healed.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck!

Yes! Share away

This was well told @travelman. It is indeed a very sad place.

Is the method for putting the post on the map different now?

No, just continue adding the code to your posts. They will show up when the site is fixed, just not in the meantime.

Wow, thanks for the lightning fast reply!

Lol. You caught me at the right time. As you can see, this one had a slight delay.

This is so beautifully and respectfully written. I had a similar experience in Aushwitz. It is so difficult to describe the energy in a place like that. You have done so well with such a difficult thing.

Thanks. I’m glad you understand how hard it is to describe.

wow! That was a pretty heavy experience to go through. I do like that you took photos of the living plants to give us hope after such pain and anguish.

Y ah. Heavy. Thanks for the kind words

Thanks, Travelman, for this excellent, well-written, and informative post.

Far from being "lofty or pretentious," it introduces a story that everyone should hear. What the Cambodians went through over 1975–79 was so very shocking and disturbing, and anyone who can stomach the facts should learn about it. (I'll resteem it.)

Your decision to photograph the peaceful, benevolent greenery outside the prison was the perfect option. Admittedly, I might have liked to see photos of the prison or of the writers sitting outside, but that would have left me feeling down and pessimistic. After being reminded of all the horrifying Khmer Rouge carnage and murder that had I had read about several years ago, your photos simply said, "Life."

Here are the titles of 2 books that I read on the subject (added for the readers of this post). They do not make pleasant reading, but they offer us some essential history of the depths of horror to which mankind can descend.

When Broken Glass Floats: Growing Up Under the Khmer Rouge
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4372.When_Broken_Glass_Floats

Survival in the Killing Fields
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/386580.Survival_in_the_Killing_Fields

Life and Love and Peace. Always and everywhere.

Thanks for the kind words and I was really hoping you would list those books again, so thanks.

Here's one more book, which I haven't read ...

First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4373.First_They_Killed_My_Father

Angelina Jolie recently made a film based on this book. It's another first-person account of 5 years living in the hell created by the Khmer Rouge.

Not pretentious (even though the plant photos are poignantly artsy). Really conveys the gravity of your own experience at a site of horrors. Brings back memories of hollow weeping at war memorials. Must go sit in quiet now. :'(

Welcome back! I was worried about the pics being on the artsy-fartsy side. Thanks for calling them poignantly artsy instead.

Incredible how peaceful this place looks today. Great post, this is not something we should forget.

Nice writing. I read your post brother.
Nice photography.
I will restreemed this post

Thank you and thank you.

Congratulations @travelman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43