You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Mysterious Ways of Inspiration

in #writing6 years ago

All of my income comes from freelance writing, and I struggle with exactly the issue you have described. Even though I usually have a topic given to me by a client beforehand, I often find it hard to even come up with an outline of the topic if I am distracted by other things and just don't feel like it.

Sometimes I respond by trying to push through and work anyway. Those are the times when my work ends up not being as good. Other times, I just take the day off and go back to work the next day. But if I do that every time, I'll end up not making enough money to pay the bills.

I think you just have to figure it out on a case-by-case basis.

Thank you for writing this. I enjoyed reading it a lot.

Sort:  

Having to write about a subject someone else gives me, sounds like my nightmare!!

When the creative thing is not just a hobby, but also means of making money, you don't have the luxury to only work on the piece when you are super inspired. That is exactly what I have to do too, go away from the subject for a while if I can, and then get back to it.

Thank you for taking the time to read it and respond :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70018.15
ETH 3794.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75