Read 2

in #writing7 years ago

I remember the day I contacted a writer at cointelegraph. I asked him to teach me about Bitcoin, Cryptocurrencies and Blockchains. He replied with one word: Read!

This is a sequel to the previous post I made about reading. I called for contributions towards this topic (reading). You can still leave your ideas in the post. This will definitely not be my last post in the 'read series'.


734689_M.jpg
Source

I am often amazed by the level of ignorance that is displayed by some of the critics of cryptocurrencies. Some of the people who claim to be experts don't even know anything.

Earlier this year, I asked an investment banker about bitcoin; she started comparing it with mmm. She said ‘bitcoin is like mmm’. That's a really high level of ignorance and if I didn't know better I would have taken her word as instruction. I made my own research and found it to be false.

In many other instances I have been disappointed by people who I taught should be knowledgeable about the subject. This includes the authorities. They seem to be lost and can't keep up with this 'crypto-frenzy'.

This is why it is very important to read. To succeed in the game of Cryptos; you need to read a lot; you need to have a passion for learning, an open mind and a willingness to fail. Yes! Failure is part of the process. If you are not willing to be a newbie and suck at it the beginning, you may never succeed here.

1037378_M.jpg
Source

Let me now borrow some words from @terrybrock who was so generous to take part in the ‘call for contributions' that I made yesterday.

There is a big learning curve in cryptocurrencies and mastering all of this. Yes, there are strange new terms. Yes, there are strange new procedures. However, I've found that if you embrace "syntopic learning" you do better. What is syntopic learning?

Gather several sources of material on a common subject. Let's say you wanted to learn about Steemit (good platform!). You'll hear terms like upvote, resteem and not to mention Steem Power, Steem Dollars and a host of other new terms.

Don't be overwhelmed but read from a variety of sources on this. Look through Steemit posts. Look at the Steemit White Paper (click on the 3 lines in the upper-right and slide down to "Steem Whitepaper" for a good start. All of this is gathering a variety of sources for your syntopic learning.

Thank you for reading. I tried to make this as short as possible. I don't like long posts.

Please leave a comment if you enjoyed reading and if you think this post totally sucks (lol), leave a comment below.


DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

Sort:  

I don't know why I always miss your giveaway
Nice write up.
We blacks are the worst readers, I in particular, I find it hard to read a complete sentence without being bored. I used to read, all of a sudden I lost interest in reading, a I think k about is money and sex.
Just imagine
Cultivating the habit of ready should be our primary task
Thanks for pointing this out bro
Following ur footsteps bro

great post tojukaka! keep it up! and thanks again for following!

great post^^, followed u and upvoted some of your posts can u do that to for me pls :)

Congratulations @tojukaka! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow... Great

Nice one... Keep the fire burning!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33