You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Kill Writer's Block Once and For All

in #writing6 years ago

Excellent suggestions. I use Stackedit to keep a list of ideas and to also keep an archive of all of my posts. Like you, I have way too many things to write about. I think the biggest challenge is balancing my time vs. the rewards. The direct rewards paid in steem (including all three forms together), especially for my most successful posts, simply don't justify the amount of effort put into the posts. I can put that same effort into other endeavors and get far bigger returns (albeit perhaps a bit delayed). That means that I look for either very short and quick things to write for Steemit, or I write longer pieces if I think they can get value in other ways. For instance, I use my visualization posts as part of my class and also has a means to publicize the class. That helps justify putting more effort into a post. That said, I'd like to see a steem-like platform based on proof-of-brain that supports evergreen content. Some combination of Steem and Stackexchange would likely work well.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Sort:  

That looks like an excellent tool (Stackedit). I'd never heard of it, but I can see it being useful. Can you post to Steemit with it, or do you copy/paste?

Yes, balancing time with rewards is certainly a challenge. I agree the rewards are not worth the time, right now. I can easily spend two hours on a post. I've been known to spend four. The shorter, or previously written ones, may only take an hour. But then I spend an hour sharing them all on my various Discord channels. So it does take time. The way I see it, the time put in now will lead to greater rewards down the road. Like building a business. You put in 60-80 hours a week the first few years. Over time, you trade the hours for more compensation. By the time you retire, the business is running itself and you're living on residuals. At least, that's the way it's supposed to work.

You don't think Steemit supports evergreen content? I think it could, if people were writing it.

Isn't StackExchange a Q&A site, like Quora? I think I get what you mean. Communities. It would be nice to have built-in communities instead having to work all the Discord channels. If they could take that idea of communities built around specific interests and integrate that into Steemit, then that would add a whole new level of content to the platform and give users plenty more opportunities for earning rewards. That would be awesome.

There is another blockchain-based social media platform currently in the works called Narrative. It will be built around those types of communities. It's looking like it's going to get some pretty decent early support. Have you heard of it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48