My Freelance Writing Series #3 - GUNAXIN & NEATORAMA

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Hello and happy week,

Third day for the coolest freelance writing guide Steemit has ever seen, and I decided to include two websites in the same post. Why? Well, because they go together chronologically (when it comes to my writing career) and also because they both have some of the coolest logos. Am I lying?

GUNAXIN

Gunaxin-Logo.png
Source

NEATORAMA

download.jpg
Source

Awesomeness, eh?

How To Write For Them

I would HIGHLY recommend to contact Phil (owner of Gunaxin) directly via email and ask him if he's paying writers at the moment. You can find all the details you need by clicking on their About Us page.

As the website declares, Gunaxin is full of Stuff for Guys, organized into seven primary categories; Sports, Humor, Media, Motors, Gadgets, Grub, and Travel. Think of Playboy and you're good to go.

As for Neatorama, things are even more democratic and rewarding. You can create an account there and start commenting on other people's articles. If your comments are honest, constructive and offer great feedback, you may end up writing for the Website. If you're a geek in mind and soul you will definitely find success there.

Show Me The Money

Johnny Cash 109.jpg
Source

When it comes to Neatorama, I really don't know what's going on as I only wrote an article for them as a guest star. I won't mention the story about it because it will seem like self-worshiping. I won't mention how much money I made for this little article either, because it will seem like self-worshiping x2. Let's just say that the owner really liked me and wanted my "scalp" in the list of writers who have contributed to his website. However, he put his name with big letters on top and mine at the bottom of the article. Ahhhh, you're forgiven though....You paid well ;)
https://www.neatorama.com/trivia/2014/01/30/Philip-K-Dick-Never-Saw-Blade-Runner-and-Ridley-Scott-Never-Finished-Reading-the-Novel-it-was-Based-on/

When it comes to Gunaxin....I dunno where to begin and where to end. Let me say this though: if Gunaxin had the millions of visitors other websites have as Listverse, Mental Floss, Ranker, List25, Ars Technica (among others) and used the paying system it used when I wrote for them, trust me when I say that it would make its writers RICH!!!

If I recall correctly, Phil paid each article based on its views. If let's say you made 25k views you would make $10, if you made 250k views, something like $100 and so on. I wrote 43 articles for Gunaxin and made very good money, especially if you take into account its weird paying system. For that matter, until 2016 a Gunaxin's article remained the highest earning piece I had ever written. The one about atheism that Richard Dawkins Foundation republished brought me millions of readers and made me a thousand dollars (give or take).
stereotypes-900x450.jpg
Source

Keep in mind, however, that in Gunaxin I also had the lowest paying article so far ($9 I think). It was like a Russian roulette writing for this funky website, but its workshop was so loose and cool that gave you mad freedom. Heck, I even wrote lists like this one and I didn't get fired:
https://humor.gunaxin.com/seven-notorious-national-stereotypes-people-tend-believe/164117

Most importantly, through Phil I met the "Flying Dutchman," with whom we created tcmag.com and we almost became rich. So, it was all good!

To sum it up though, if you are reading this and want to start making real money (and better money than 95% of Steemians do with the current price), Gunaxin and Neatorama are definitely two great options to try your chances!

Cheers!!!!

Sort:  

This series of post is extremely awesome! Also it provides actual ''solutions'' to get paid for your content and the fact that you have tried all of them as well as letting us know the pros and cons is so valuable!

You could just keep all these info for yourself but you didn't that means something

tcmag.com and we almost became rich

Now i am curious :P

Thanks man. Be patient. I have awesome stories about tcmag and other websites lol

Hey Tkappa. Are you still doing freelance writing for gunaxin?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53948.70
ETH 2245.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29