Tulips in Winter

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

tulips-320151_640.jpg
Tulips in Winter

I push back the curtain of pale blue just enough to gain
A view of the park across the lane from my home.
The morning is boorish and over-gloomy, stranding me
With little choice except to remain inside for the day.
I suppose I should feel at least some modicum of shame
For such lazy demeanor, but no one is here to look upon
This disobedient state of tangled tresses that spills down my
Flannel robe in an abstract pattern of ringlets and knots.
The snow is spiraling softly just beyond the glass, and
Little white mountains are cresting against the fence line.
Only a few hearty wanderers are about today, most with
Their faces and heads robed tightly in winter bindings.
I'm sure that is Mr. Morrison in the distance, though I
Most certainly wasn't hoping to catch sight of him today.
I watch him pass by on countless occasions as I take my
First cup of coffee and wait for my bath water to warm.
And at each instant of studying his unreadable expression,
A fledgling curiosity nibbles at my thoughts causing me to
Imagine what could drive the loneliness in his long stride.
I never fail to step away from the window as he approaches
My block, afraid that he might let his stare find me in awe.
At times I think of calling out in greeting to him, but some
Unseen force converts my words into cowardice unfailingly.
He has disappeared from my vantage point, and I chide
Myself once again for not having extended a warm hello.
The paths of my mind and heart begin to collide with an
Unfamiliar longing; I pray for my heart to collect its rhythm.
It skips erratically at the sound of three raps upon my door.
But who could be calling on this bitter Thursday morning?
I unbolt the chain and turn the knob expecting the postman
Has arrived early in anticipation of worsening weather; my
Eyes are blinded momentarily by the beauty of a spring-like
Bouquet dappled with snowflakes and green sprigs of hope.
Mr. Morrison steps slowly inside the hallway at my stuttered
Invitation, and with tenderness smoothes back my gypsy hair.

(c) Copyright Tina Jordan 2014 All Rights Reserved
photo public domain via pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31