The Undoing of Sir Byron

in #writing7 years ago

The Undoing of Sir Byron

It is widely rumored that she floated across the channel on the tail of a sea serpent, while
Some recount that she was born of the moon's salty tears as they collided with the surf.
In fair accord, it is declared that she is in league with the Sidhe; perhaps she is their queen.
By all accounts, she abides in a hidden cave, curiously detached from both her world and ours.
Her gaze is to be avoided at all costs, and the women of the village warn their babes not to
Rove past Harkin's Crossing ....lest they chance an all too grim fate at the hands of the fae.
My brothers-in-arms dismiss my empirical fascination when I mention a distant sighting of
The lass, and insist that I should not vitiate my good name by manner of entertaining such
Wild notions; their looks of concern over my subsequent laughter is always mildly touching.
Try as I may, I cannot subdue the urge to scan the banks of the river as my diurnal ride
Carries me to the far edge of the estate long before the dew has scattered from the meadows.
My thoughts and my horse are my only companions this morning; and the warmth of the
Sun's rays on my back has the effect of an evening hearth, dulling my normally keen wits.
I rein in the mare and dismount, giving her free access to the delicately scented field as I
Walk further towards the property line in hopes of shaking this sudden bout of lethargy.
It is then that I spy her there shin-deep in the crystalline waters, with cascades of flaxen
Curls obscuring her face as she leans down into the current to fill each of three clay pitchers.
I voice a gentle yet firm greeting, inwardly plotting the most viable escape route should
She take offense to my disturbance of her ritual and decide to impale me or mayhap worse.
I am shocked by the quickness of her instinctive stiffening; and it is most obvious that my
Proximity has startled her, as the circlet of wildflowers atop her head slides out of alignment.
I find the color in her eyes. Green of summer's forest must surely be humbled by their depths.
Afraid to blink, I study the sapience of her gaze and note the underlying layers of longing and fear.
By Heaven's Gate! This petite, enchanting imp cannot be the monstrous troglodyte of legend!
I momentarily think to break the cutting silence by wheedling her with an assortment of
Spontaneous flattery; but as the fragrance of blossoms and temptation envelopes me, I succumb to the
Invitation of her dainty, outstretched hand and the rose toned allure of destiny's kiss.

Copyright Tina Jordan 2017 All Rights Reserved

forest-2497867_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

Congratulations @tinajordan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

now I know what it's like to be borne along on long waves of lines to a Siren's lair ...

Again, my thanks to you.. :)

I love the style in which you constructed this, right off the bat. Bring on the wyrding. I want this to be a small illustrated book... more, yes more as it's got such an alluring feel with mystery, the mystery of the wee ones and the forest.

Thank you my friend... it was a really fun piece to write <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66272.75
ETH 3183.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09