The Clockmaker

in #writing7 years ago

The Clockmaker

Long past the hour of normal retiring, he sits on the padded seat of the stool leaning
Into the intricacies of his craft and swallowing the dread that creeps up into his throat.
Lit by a trio of weeping candles and one strategically placed oil lamp, the room and its
Army of timepieces take on an air of otherworldly grandeur in the shimmering glow.
The creaking moan of carriage wheels in the adjacent alley play second string to his
Recycled thoughts until the marriage of the two becomes a mockery of yesterday's song.
Closing the window in an effort to regain his concentration, he surrenders to the perfectly
Synchronized meter of the tireless mechanisms and resumes his work at the bench.
Time is marred by the memory of that night as it replays without pity in his mind;
His eyes protest in weariness as he labors to hold the staking tool at the perfect angle.
I speak from beyond his shadow with an intensity I have never before gained, hoping
Against hopes that he might hear my cry and discover that I linger within these walls...
That the thousandfold ticking is an echo of my heartbeat marked by unspoken regret.
Reaching through the mist of the midnight hour, I harness enough strength to push a
Carelessly placed file until it topples onto the caliper before sliding down to the dusty floor.
The clank of the disturbance is muffled as the assembly of sentries chime the first of twelve.
I note the slight tremble in his right hand as he reaches for the fallen instrument and
The uncertainty in his posture as he straightens himself and the scattered bits of tooling.
I concentrate my will as I whisper his name and revel in the sudden change in his pupils.
The ticking has ceased, and silences thickens around us as time gives a merciful pause.

Copyright Tina Jordan 2017 All Rights Reserved

clock-face-1082319_1280.jpg
Image public domain via Pixabay

Sort:  

Good book, I am excited to read the next part, Upvoted. Will this be a series of chapters or just teases?

Congratulations @tinajordan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Enjoying your work very much. Atmospheric. Resteeming :)

Am imagining too that this would be very powerful read aloud. Do you memorise your work and perform it? Doing so transformed my work :)

Thank you so much! I have done a few readings, but not enough to say I'm totally comfortable. Working on it! :)

I joined a storytelling group. I thought it'd be a bit boring but actually it's fantastic. It's really got me into the whole performance angle. I'm hoping to shoot some videos to share soon. Really really recommend memorising and performing - even just in the mirror. Alters your whole cadence :)

My Dad was a clock maker and collector. This is so reminiscent of his life. Thanks 🐓🐓

How cool! Thanks for reading!

Thank you for stopping by. The story of time weaves deeply into our lives. 🐓🐓

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Clayboyn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Awesome! Thanks!

Wooot wooot!! Another shawty!! I love these...have I said that lately??? LOL This is great!

I'm glad!! Thank you so much!!

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69