Heat Stroke

in #writing7 years ago

Heat Stroke

It was a particularly balmy and oppressing
Afternoon towards the latter part of August.
So I retired for a brief nap and, to my disbelief,
I awoke some ninety-seven years later.
Spiders had displayed their architecture
Between my right earlobe and the rusty iron bedpost,
And a light layer of dust had gently settled
On the crevices of my paling, wrinkled skin.
I roused myself from this epic slumber, and
Hence noticed that my north facing window
Was slightly ajar. A sweet, cool breeze
Shimmied in through the partition, inviting me outdoors.
Clumsily I strolled down Culpepper Street
Attired in my thread-bare, faded cotton shift.
Expecting stares and looks of unease or disgust,
I collected mere indifference from those who passed by.
Only the clouds and the trees in the corner park seemed
To conspire; and as I strained to listen to their
Barely decipherable chant, it became increasingly clear that
Their whispers bespoke of a stranger come to town.

Copyright Tina Jordan All Rights Reserved

bottle-598210_1280.jpg
Image public domain via Pixabay

Sort:  

What the hell typa nap was that? Good read.

Your reply gave me a good chuckle :D Thanks for reading!! :)

Yeah either that or an alien abduction :D Thanks for reading!

It's actually an oldie from a book I self published a few years back :D

Congratulations @tinajordan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

this is a cross-genre prose poem and very nicely written and illustrated. I know how much time goes into writing and then choosing the right image. I appreciate the artistry here, but it may not be caviar for the general. Their loss. This is really good, Tina. You wrote real good for free :)

Thank you John! That means a lot coming from you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55499.23
ETH 2917.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30