Edge of the Storm

in #writing7 years ago

Edge of the Storm

The air is thick and heartily scented with the declaration of rain forthcoming, and
I cannot help but wonder if the journey will put him in peril of life and heart.
Looking once more at the ink stained paper, I try to focus on the elegance of
His pen, but the rich deepness of his voice intercedes in the walls of my mind,
Reciting the words that line the leaf of parchment and haunt my every thought.
A sudden roll of thunder shakes me from the spell I have cast upon the moment;
I step onto the lawn to allow the coolness of the rain to fully restore my composure.
The ground is nearly saturated, and water seeps into the bindings of my leather
Slippers, anointing my feet as I walk a bit farther into the darkening night.
A boorish wind ripples through my unpinned hair and caresses my dampened skin
To the point of producing a chill beneath the thin layer of cotton clinging to my arms.
A ripening of the sky results in a brief illumination of my surroundings; the flash of
Lightening startles me into a realization that I have strayed quite far from home.
A sense of panic shimmies up my spine....a fear born not of being lost but rather of
Squandering the sole chance of marveling at the sound of my name on his tongue.
I run in a direction that I trust to be correct, battling the forces of gravity and
Unforgiving mud beneath me and the urge to sob over my apparently foolish notion.
Just above the alternating beat of my racing pulse and the pelting jewels of rain,
I hear a crescendo of pounding upon the ground just behind me towards the treeline.
Before I can process the intensity of sound to deduct its origin, I am swept upward in
An instant and onto the back of a horse, steadied by an arm around my waist.
My heart cannot decide its course; it slows for an instant in relief from the sprint, then
Accelerates without mercy as I turn my gaze backwards in search of his smile.

Copyright 2017 Tina Jordan All Rights Reserved

cloud-2179323_1280.jpg
Image via Pixabay

Sort:  

Nice read @tinajordan!
I found your post on my daily writing top list and believe your post is undervalued, so I upvoted and resteemed your post !
All the best @minnowhelp

lost in the frenzied rush of a runaway heart...Beautiful, Tina :)

Yes, indeed... thanks John :)

great content! and thanks again for following!

Thanks so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65670.18
ETH 2575.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65