The Survivor: Episode 11 (Steemit Original)

in #writing8 years ago

I remember the hike that morning. To forget the memory would be considered a sin to many I am sure. I remember the sounds of water and like something out of a hollywood film the hidden valley opened into a secret cove. Complete with a waterfall the hidden get away would of been the perfect place to have a picnic or go for a swim. The crystal clear water made bubbling sounds and teemed with fish as it gurgled down the stream. The water pouring over the edge of rock after rock was a great sight to see and as I turned, another sight caught my eye.... and my breath.


(Location: Paradise Cove; Woodland Park - Colorado, USA)

Her figure was slim and her shape was sleak. She hadn't yet noticed my stare as it was apparent she wasn't expecting any visitors. Unknowing of her company and the danger the bushes where I currently sat perched above the falls was a clear view of the scene before me. Deciding it was worth the wait to see whom else might be around the elegance of her movements were unlike any other. Perhaps it was because she no longer wore clothes and as she splashed and bathed in the water her figure enthralled my every fantasy. Hearing a voice in the distance call out and the woman perk up and in the sweetest loving voice reply "Over Here." As the man approached the water she handed him cup to dip in the stream as she wrapped a towel around herself. "We need to get moving." There is a raiding parting not far from here. The horses are ready. We might have to leave the 3rd, we just can't take it anymore. We need to be quickly moving.

A horse. The thought never had crossed my mind that an animal like that would be very efficient and effective in terrain like this not to mention easy to handle and feed unlike being able to find and purchase if possible at this point, fuel. Following at a distance I followed the couple to a few others who were waiting on horseback. They were a band of several and as they rode of sure enough a horse stripped of all supplies was left behind. Slowly creeping my way to the animal as to not spook it I looked for anything I could use to harness and ride the majestic creature.

Reaching the clearing the group had previously been at I realized they had been sorting supplies and only taking the best and what they could or needed. Plenty had been left over from their picking including a body that apparently didn't need to continue with the party anylonger. After picking up a few things including a box of ammo and some canned food I found a bigger backpack to stuff everything in and made my way to the mare who was now chewing on foliage nearby to the tree the rope tired her to. As I picked through things I noticed the saddle and other supplies in a pile. Seeming like it had just been taken off the now tethered mare I thought it must have been the one she was used to and decided to use it as well.

As I finished tightening the stirrups and clipping the bridal. I then hoisted myself onto the back of the beast and clicked my tongue to push forward. As we trotted through the woods on no certain path a peace found me and I began to softly hum as we made our way. Looking at the map I had picked up from the pile of trash left at the camp site. I realized the best place to be was only a few hundred miles north and it seemed to be only a few days ride. To find a place to survive would be of the utmost importance. To find a safe place... now that would be a miracle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63