The Bandit Camp (Steemit Original Short Story)

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

The dunes looked like waves of yellow dust as the wind kicked the top layer of the sand about. The ripples on the waves made walking harder but the bounds on my hands insisted I continue. Apparently, if you kill a bandit. The other bandits force you to take their place. As you just learned, so did I only moments ago. "Look I didn't mean to get us in this mess." Looking blankly into your eyes I can only imagine what you are thinking as we both drudge on through the desolate space.

The wind finally gives way and I wish I hadn't as the sun starts beating down upon us. The bounds dig into my wrists and my fingers start to go numb from lack of circulation no doubt. As we climb another dune we gave into the distance as this dune seemed to be a bit bigger than the others. On the zone I could see the dark outline of what could only be the camp we were heading to. Kicking sand up in front of you I grabbed your attention and nodded in the direction of the passing horse to your left and with an instant you knew exactly what I was looking at.

The knife glimmer as the ridder let it slip from its sheath and fall into the sand. it didn't seem anyone had noticed and the luck of the matter was in our favor. The blade now covered mostly by the sand blended in under the feet of the traveling parties. As it passed under my steps my foot kicked it up into my hands. Barely grabbing the blade's tip I grasp the handle to secure the possession. As I flip around the sharp edge and free my hands I pass the blade to you and focus on the next task. Surrounded by a team of Bandits who now only thought of us a captors, they could very easily of started to try and kill us once again.

As we approached the gate of the stronghold the entrance opened by no command and the doors creaked as they swung on their hinges. The dark wood was carved with faces and skulls, the edges were decorated in a pattern of roses and the thorns were twisted into the faces of the tormented carvings. Brilliantly done although a horror for those passing by. As we entered into the gate we gazed into the courtyard and the stone pathway made walking an easy task. As we shook the dust from our feet and continued to be pulled along our hand now free but only a small weapon for defense.

Being outmanned and out armed we continued down the path being chosen for us. As we turned towards a tall building with many windows and floors. We could make out faces in the windows peering down towards us. As we entered into the building we were pushed into a room. As the door slammed behind us a voice was heard echoing through the room. The voice was deep and old as it boomed off the stone walls and filled your ears and your soul. "So, you thought you could kill a thief and get away with it did you? Well let me tell you, that isn't the case at all." The voice came from a figure at the end of the room covered in a dark robe with a flowing train of black and red. The robe dragged on the ground as the man walked and as he moved closer to us we would soon make our next move. "YOU!" As the slim boney finger stretched outward and pointed in my direction. The voice seemed disgusted. Being shoved forward you eyes met mine as I looked back to you. Winking now to alert you to the move I stepped toward the dark robed figure and jumped at him while freeing my hands.

Your actions were swift, your movements fluid, and nonetheless perfect. As you freed your hands and made contact with each body your movements left them as a lifeless lump. The old man collapsed under the force of my weight as our bodies connected with a force that landed us on the ground. The 2 Bandits that had been by my side following me to the ground. With firm grasp on my arms they thought the job was done but that through was soon purged by a blade. As you flipped me a sword and finished dealing with the last of our 4 captors we now both turned to the old man.

"What say you old man." my voice seemed angry and demanding as I directed the sharp toned words toward the wrinkled face. The saddened gazed stared back at us and his lips moved slowly projecting only these words. "You have just killed my son." As the man grabbed the lifeless body on the ground he pulled at the garments as tears feel from his cheeks. Backing away from the sight I grabbed your arm and pulled you towards the door. Back out into the courtyard we walked and stepping into the light and out from the building we were met with awkward stares and puzzled expressions. Armed and ready to brawl several men approached us demanding to know if the old man was harmed. "Who would hurt an old man?" The remark slipped from my lips and my face followed with a scowl. I brushed passed the men and walked toward the gate as a few horses spotted my eye. They were being led towards us and as they came near the young man spoke very softly. "These were my brothers, he does not need them now. Take heed my friends, you have now a long journey."

As we took the reins the words hung in my head for a moment. Climbing into the saddle I clicked my tongue to set the beast in motion. As we trotted through the gates and back into the Dessert we could see smoke coming from the distance. Knowing that to be the direction of the town our pace hastened as the horses were set to gallop.........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44