Catching Spider (Original Steemit Short Story Based on Actual Events) Pics*

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

Cruising down that old Colorado Highway with the wind blowing through out the car. Dreaming of the ocean and listening to whatever station would crackle in over the speakers. Seeing the sun start to dip below the horizon meant they would be out in numbers this time of night. Their giant legs cast dancing shadows across the road as I slowed to make my first catch.


As the car's brakes grabbed and the tires slowed to a halt the spiders pace quickened as the edge of the road drew near. Just as the door swung open and my foot hit the pavement the sound of oncoming traffic reached my ears. As I hurried my step pulling an empty cup from the floor of the car. Walking over to the beast I now scooped him into the container and fastened the lid.


Moving now back towards my awaiting vehicle the sounds of horns blaring and one obviously  upset driver was only to familiar. As I reached my door and quickly entered, sat, and sped away the driver could be seen making obvious hand gestures as the cars sleek form gained momentum and slipped down the road. Not even wasting my time to acknowledge the man as the time was simply not worth it. Focusing now on the road to make sure to dodge or collect the dancing shadows I settled into my seat and watched the sun cast vibrate colors across the sky.


As the clouds exchanged their bleak white color for rainbows of beauty the Colorado day was casting a final farewell to all those who enjoy it. The background is breathtaking as I catch glimpse of another dancing shadow just on the horizon. Several hours till home and the stops to collect pictures and memories are more than I can imagine they would be.


Sort:  

I spent two years in Texas. Before we left for home in Buffalo NY, we collcted 20 brown and red tarantulas to bring back. When we got to Buffalo, I had my friends put all the spiders on me for a photo. That was thirty-four years ago. I recently started going through the boxes of potos I have in hopes of finding it. If I find it, I will post it.

Oh please do post the pictures if you find them. I would love to see them! The brown ones are the only ones I found. I found them in La Hunta, Colorado on my drive home from Texas.

Great post - I really dig your style of writing! Pretty gnarly spiders as well!

Awesome! Thank you so much for the encouragement. I really appreciate it. I have been trying pretty hard to write well while enjoying getting to know people here. Thank you again and I wish you the best of days!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57574.67
ETH 2368.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42