Write your story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

― Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings


Source

Today I opened my steemit blog page to check if there were any updates and then I accidentally clicked on post. For the first time ever I noticed that the empty space where you are supposed to write reads 'write your story'. I mean I knew that it says something about writing or write but I never really thought about it. It is so simple to say write your story then shouldn't it be as easy to actually write your story?

I meet a lot of people who tell me that they would love to write but they do not have the confidence or they do notknow what to say or how to say it. Basically they do not know how to express themselves but perhaps it is so because they are confining themselves to words. Who said that you needed words to write your story? Who said it has to be a straight forward text? The alternatives are countless. It can be a painting, it can be a doodle, it can be words written on a blank page, it can be an abstract, a photograph, a poem, a sonnet, lyrics, music or even food. Why even give it a name, it can be anything you want it to. It does say write your story after all.

Write about what touches your heart, write about something that you actually relate with or something that you believe in. There are only a few such platforms which accept and appreciate whatever it is that you wan to present, so why not embrace it.


Written by @things, 2018. All rights reserved.


Sort:  

writing is my favourite hobby

That's nice, it is really good for mental peace.

I totally agree with you. Writing has magical potion to keep us alive and continue to ponder about life. It motivates me to be a better person.

That is such a beautiful thought.

You really said well, @things, and I appreciate your advise. I fall into the category of those who feel they can't express themselves well, but I've kept evreything aside and started writing. I'm happy to be here on steemit!

That is so good. I started writing when i was 14. It felt like no one understood me back then you know and writing in my diary made me feel understood.

"Who said that you needed words to write your story? Who said it has to be a straight forward text? The alternatives are countless. It can be a painting, it can be a doodle, it can be words written on a blank page, it can be an abstract, a photograph, a poem, a sonnet, lyrics, music or even food."

Great point! My stories are about boring programming, technology, and charts. Most people would consider that boring but that is the story I want to tell!

Maybe sometimes it's about confidence too, It takes me a lot to publish something I want to tell, other than writing there are other forms to express your feelings as you said and animation is my passion, is like mixing drawing with body language.

It is great then that you have a passion you know, something that brings you enjoy.

Well said, I completely agree. I was one among those thinking i can never write, Until i started writing about my experience and my feelings and now i'm really enjoying it. Also, i always had a misconception that writing has to be always done in sophisticated way using sophisticated words, until i started reading posts on steemit. I truly feel this is such a beautiful platform to express what we feel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63813.24
ETH 2654.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76