What floats your boat: Handwriting or Typing

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

“A torpid heart in agony needs a pen to bleed”

― Munia Khan

I do not know why but ever since I was a child, whenever I though of a writer I always imagined him/her sitting in a sun-lit room with white curtains with a paper and a pen. As I grew older it changed to this same person sitting by a fireplace, the sound of fire crackling in a mysterious aria just enough to quell the silence. Dark mahogany floors covered in books and journals just laying about. This person sits on a rustic old chair, taking occasional sips from his/her bourbon.

I will admit that more often not, this person is me. One of the most recent writing environment fantasies have been about me sitting in a nice little outdoor bar, order a mojito or two, and pour my heart out in my diary while looking at he sea and bathing in the glorious sunshine. One such day, I was thinking of all this and then I realized the common denominator in all these scenarios was a paper and a pen. I am that kind of a writer.

I find it extremely hard to jot my feelings down, or write any sort of a piece on a computer. I do not know if its is my horrible typing skills or what, but it simply kills the whole vibe for me. Maybe because the time when I first started writing, a notebook and a pen were all I had. Writing back then saved me. Perhaps this connection or those memories make me a paper and pen person. My creative juices refuse to flow on a computer.

Then again, there is this another thing that I noticed is that I am great at writing immensely emotional stuff, related to say my love life, romantic feelings etc when I type it out on my phone. I feel like it has something to do with the fact that realization of these feelings first happened during texting, and these were expressed as well while texting (I mean it is lame I know, but very true as well). Gradually whenever I was upset I'd just write it down in my notes in the phone. This habit also gives me an unfair advantage in event of a fight happening over text.

Perhaps, our brain just associates a certain feeling to a a certain medium and it is only that medium then that we can express that feeling through.

Do you agree?


Images by Pexels
Witten by @things, 2018. All rights reserved.


Sort:  

Hm, I imagine this is totally a product of your experiences, and how you've developed connections to things throughout your life. Sometimes things just feel right. Like playing a video game with a controller versus a computer. As an engineer, I had to use a certain type of paper, and I would go to great lengths to find the exact type of engineering paper I was used to, regular graph paper just felt odd.

I totally get it!

Love your all posts <3 @things

Thank you.

I'd love to be able to write beautifully but my handwriting is dreadful which is why I mostly use the computer however if I had good handwriting I would love to be writing on paper with a real pen.

Oh lol. Well better to write on computer then.

Nice information for us

plz,Back vote & comment

You paint a picture well with your words and it is enjoyable to read. I can also see you with pen and paper in hand. For many members of the older generations that was and still is the preferred method of writing. Thank you... 😊

Ah thank you so much.

Hahahahahahah! I just can not stop laughing and grinning to myself. Really funny illusive description of what you think of a writer when growing up;-

I do not know why but ever since I was a child, whenever I though of a writer I always imagined him/her sitting in a sun-lit room with white curtains with a paper and a pen. As I grew older it changed to this same person sitting by a fireplace, the sound of fire crackling in a mysterious aria just enough to quell the silence. Dark mahogany floors covered in books and journals just laying about. This person sits on a rustic old chair, taking occasional sips from his/her bourbon.

Your creative juice will flow with time on the computer Dearie! Smiles;-

My creative juices refuse to flow on a computer.

Yes Dear I agree. Great content and I love the closing too! Keep steeming Dearie;-

Perhaps, our brain just associates a certain feeling to a a certain medium and it is only that medium then that we can express that feeling through.

Do you agree?

Awww thank you so much for such kind words <3

Thanks for bringing us back to the basics! Reminded me of an interview I saw with Tom Robbins who said his best enjoyment of writing is pushing ink into pulp, and changing where he sits 😝

Hahahahahah that makes total sense.

I love both, really. I can type really fast and it spell corrects my terrible spelling and handwriting. But I love writing in notebooks and I have many notebooks on the go at any given time, of all sizes, some ruled, grid paper, or blank.

I tend to use paper for really intimate writing, or for writing notes while reading something on a deep topic. I used to use notebooks more for todo lists and that but I use my phone for that stuff now.

For journalling, nothing beats paper though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85