Enchanted Spring on a Free Summer Day: Portrait in Oil

in #writing7 years ago

It was that kind of day in the forest.


What kind of day? A day of following the smell of honey across a meadow, or following the sun through a mossy glade-- a free time day, a summer day.


But what does honey smell like? Honey smells like flowers, and having heard the roaring plums earlier in the spring, and having seen their blossoms raving with wild honeybees, the bee tree must be near, and may well smell like plums and sunshine, a liquid gold straight out of the storybooks.

The spring babbled on endlessly, but still never told which way that bee tree lay, or which bright glen to cross, or which meadow to sniff, or even which way our shadow would lay to find that sweet liquid gold. The sun had moved already-- how long had it been? How long does it take to listen to a spring?

The spring will begin laughing then, and it does seem funny: what honey could be as sweet as some time spent by a murmuring spring on a free time day, on such a golden summer day? And it had been one of those days.


thanks for looking as always, artwork above is 'Hotel Spring' - 2000 oil on 12" X 14" canvas panel, if you like it, up-vote as hard as you can, and then let me know what you think about life, bees, water, and supernatural enchantments in the wild.

@therealpaul

Sort:  

I like the way you 'created' the image of the Sun in this painting...very cool.

I was always putting geometry into everything-- I know it's in there, but can't always see it!

Excellent. Glad I followed. I really love honey too.

Yeah I dream of lost bee trees often enough! Thank you for the follow

Howie and I used to be in the business of honey, these days we still have a couple hives, there really is nothing like fresh honey. Especially honeycomb. My favorite here is Locust honey. If that brings to mind deformed grasshoppers, it's actually the name of a tree, and the honey it produces is so light it's almost clear. Delicious :)

We have the honey locust trees here too, and are they the ones with the giant thorns, or is that a different locust? My neighbor had a hive create some clear honey, I got to try a little of it.

It looks very nice @therealpaul.

Thank you @motivator, I appreciate the input.

Excellent! Thanks for sharing your art! Following for more! :)

I appreciate it, and it's my pleasure to share!

Superb

Thank you very much.

I say plant those flowers for the bees to collect pollen and nectar so they survive. We are in a symbiotic relationship with them. We help them and they help us by pollinating our food crops. Without them, we don't eat.

That reminds me-- I don't think I've seen a single honeybee around my house this year so far.

Very inspiriting text.. I like the way you show the emotion at the moment of describing how honey smell like.. good Job.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 64841.81
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87