The Battle

in #writing8 years ago

As I pushed through school, I still battled demons of self-loathing. School helped to create a bit more well needed Confidence, however outside of school I still questioned who I was and if I deserved to still be breathing. I was in school full time, work full time as a server at a truck stop and a full-time mom. I really had no downtime for me. I refused baby sitters even though some days I thought if I don’t get away I will collapse or finally give in to the hurt that I carried and suicide seemed like a not too distant future for me. The darkness of failure and the struggle of all the stress I placed on myself seemed to be drowning me.
Although the steps I had been taking to get out of the depression were great steps, I often felt as though I was on a tread mill. I was running as fast as I could but I was literally going nowhere. The steps I made although were progressive, it was going to be a long time before I made it to the next phase or even come close to achieving a goal. On the weekends that the seemingly useless father had the girls I fought the darkness even more. If I was done with homework and had nothing to occupy my time, the quiet of being alone was like the darkness of depression taking over. I would go out or get wrapped in a very unhealthy relationship telling myself that it was ok.
When I went out, I would end up at a bar. Either surrounded by guys trying to grab my attention or standing by the bad guy I decided deserved my attention. I found guys fighting for my attention both flattering and strange, after all they clearly have their beer goggles on and It helped me feel a little better about my sad existence. Come Sunday my girls were back in my arms and I was ready to be a mom again.
During this time, I also battled accepting being a mother. The resentment I developed for both my girls made me feel even worse. I was struggling mentally and emotionally, while their dad got to go out and pretend he was single and meet women on his time. I still hurt immensely from the divorce, the fact I was living with my parents at the ripe old age of 28 and I didn’t have a light at the end of my tunnel. I chose this man above all men, to have his children. If I would have a family, we would fight together and raise two beautiful girls together and the first opportunity he got, he ditched me to be the single mother of these girls. After all, I was a loser as a server at a truck stop being called a lot lizard by co-workers and being treated like a piece of worthless meat by all men in a radius that came anywhere near me. My girls deserved better and I was not it.
I woke up every day trying to be better than I was the day before. Telling myself that even if I was running on a treadmill, I was in fact working and making steps to achieve my goal. Although the battle with good and evil, happy and depression was the greatest battle I had to face every day, I was going to kick that day’s butt and become everything I wanted to become in the end. Even the smallest of steps was pointed in a great direction.
Although I knew that Digital forensics could lead to be very lucrative, I lived in Indiana and the most I could see myself becoming was a Police officer. Not that I looked down on being a police officer, I just figured I’d still struggle daily as a single mom. All I could see was struggle in my future but, I was going to finally be on my own and making ends meet and that was what I was trying to do. I needed to get out on my own and take care of my girls the way I should be, on my own. After all, it was my choice to have my girls.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42