You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMIT'S FIRST FLASH FICTION WRITING PROMPT CHALLENGE: There is a picture of you committing a crime on the morning news..

in #writing8 years ago

I've played it over and over again in my head.

I went to the bar last night. I had one beer. A random hobo asked me for some change. I claimed I didn't have any. I paid my tab. I went home.

It doesn't make any sense, yet the image is there before me on the news. It's a little grainy but it's hard to mistake the birth mark just below my hairline. It's definitely me robbing that gas station.

The blonde news anchor drones on. I only catch a few words here and there.

Stolen money.

Arrest.

Two dead.

I feel sick. My cup of coffee crashes to the floor as I drop to my knees. The eggs I had for breakfast come cruising back up and on to the floor. The world's spinning.

The door bell rings. Everything gains sharp focus again as adrenaline floods my veins.

Briiiiiiing.

Breath. In. Out. In. Out.

Gaining at least little composure though a slight shake in my grip gives me a way, I make it to my room.

Briiiiiiing.

Peeking through my bedroom window, I get a glimpse of the doorway. No one's there.

Now, I'm really worrie--

Briiiiiiing

I go to the door. As I get closer, there are several loud knocks, police-like knocks. I grab a bat by the door.

Slowly opening the door, I see...me.

At least like an off-brand of me. It's definitely me, but slightly altered. Like maybe my or this person's nose is slightly broader. Or this person's eyes are a slightly darker shade of brown. I can't quite place it, but it's me.

And this me has a gun pointed squarely in between my eyes.

BLAM!

Bleeding out is surprisingly peaceful. My vision blurs pulling focus onto my murderer. Reaching back, my off-self pulls my face off like bandaid. My face falls to the floor. I feel cold staring at the empty eyes of myself.

I catch a few words before I go.

Abortion.

Daughter.

Rape.

Sort:  

Woah. Did not expect that ending at all. That was really entertaining, well done!

Thank you so much! =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57305.83
ETH 3076.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40