Drone Update: Skydio Releases Self Flying Drone!

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

It is not everyday that we see a complete transformation of an industry. I'm not going to argue that this is what we are looking for here but this may be the start of something. I guess only time will tell what happens.

Basically, there is a four-year-old autonomous drone startup founded by MIT researchers called Skydio. They are backed by Silicon Valley’s top investors and rightly so. Their technology is state of the art and now after a long wait, Skydio is finally ready to show off they've been working on for years!

Skydio would like to announce their newest commercial product, the R1.

It is a drone that has been built with a features referred to as “self-flying” capabilities.

So what exactly is being referred to with this mysterious term? Well, basically it is the fact that the drone is capable of locking-on to an individual and following them while shooting video and avoiding obstacles.

So here is where the moment of 'ahhhh' comes right? Instantly what comes to mind is the potential to shoot really cool music videos / films putting a lot of professionals out of work. Beyond that I see law enforcement opportunities in which criminals or suspects will be tracked automatically. Beyond that there are probably a bunch of other cool applications that didn't just strike me like lightning!

This doesn’t just mean that it can avoid a tree or two while flying through an otherwise open field; the drone can track you while navigating itself through a dense forest or urban environments like a warehouse.

Ok, now this is getting a bit scary. Can you imagine what would happen if this technology fell into the wrong hands? What if you had a stalker that picked one of these up at the mall for the sole purpose of keeping an eye on you?

Shockingly terrified now?

I had a chance to see these capabilities in action while running through Jefferson Square Park in San Francisco with the R1 hot on my tail. The drone is alarmingly impressive but there’s something a little unsettling about having an autonomous drone track you down on its own while it avoids tree branches to keep you in its gaze.

Ok, so even the author of the article I'm quoting here has the same feelings I do. This is potentially creepy. But it's also incredibly cool. I've got mixed feelings about this amazing new albeit creepy drone.

I don't know what else I can say about this drone so just check this video out and tell me if you can imagine a dystopian world in which these little guys are flying all over the place!



Now that you know what the Skydio R1 can do, how do you feel about it? I don't know about you guys but I kind of feel like if we can't beat them, then we should join them and have some fun at least!

I wan't one or two of these new advanced flying friends...

Let the drone fun begin!

Thanks for dropping by @Techblogger!

Source:

Skydio’s $2499 ‘self-flying’ drone knows where you are and where you’re going - TechCrunch

Image Source:

TechCrunch

Sort:  

Thats pretty awsome, its crazy how fast they've developed. I have a cheap 80$ my son loves crashing it though lol

This truly is incredible!

I have the Mavic Pro.. and man does this make its tracking look silly.

I am literally yelling profanities in amazement at my screen here.

Yep, this a huge step forwards in autonomy. Incredible!

This drone would really be of great help in the crime agency of the economy

this is a great post
......I hope that we are futurevery better use the technology

Looks pretty cool.

Woooow really ,sofware sophisticated technology .. useful for everyday. this is good news and imformation for me @techblogger
Thanks for sharing ..very very good

Wow this is what i call shocking amazing.. The way technogy is moving so fast this days really baffles. Someday we are going to have self defense drones that monitors mans action and carries out a function on its own without any command.

Wow man this is unbelievable and creepy. It can follow you in the dense forests with such precision and avoid obstacles in its way at the same time. While watching the video the first thing that struck my mind was that it could easily be used by the law enforcement departments to catch the criminals and to keep track of them. It can also help the professionals to shoot awesome videos and not worrying about flying the drone. But what bums is that it can be misused by some people in criminal and unlawful activities. And tell me one thing how far from can it take pictures and shoot videos. @techblogger

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75