You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STACH Short Story Contest #20: Valentine Special- 199 words, a lovely prize pool, everyone wins!

in #writing6 years ago

My first Val was with my Dad. I was about 15. He was not ready to hand me off to some boy who he felt would take advantage of me. I was mad because Collins had asked me out and I told him I was going. It hurt me so much when I called him to cancel. To placate me, my father bought me a fancy red dress and after having a meal with my mother, returned home to take me out on my first date! We talked about love and my love interests. He was there to answer all my questions and told me all the tricks that boys used to get a lady to go to bed with them. I must confess, that day was an eye-opener for me. It prepared me and I have made the best decisions in my life.

While the evening wore on, Lionel Vandross’ song played in the restaurant, and my father asked me to dance with him. Today, my dad is no more, but I remember that day with nostalgia and I truly wish to dance with my father again. As for Collins, we currently are having a great relationship.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45