Consistently yours, Content.

in #writing7 years ago

I have read a few comments that have mentioned an inability to find suitable content to post about. I cannot relate because I am like that little boy in the 'Sixth Sense' except, I see posts.

I don't think I am the only one who has a terminator-esque targeting system that searches and identifies potential content but I have found that many do not seem to take advantage of it.

I actually write a lot more than I post and if you saw me type, you would likely pull your hair out at the inefficiency yet I do manage to get some things completed.

I thought I would write a post about how I go about It as I think there are many potentially great writers who are struggling to be consistent. I am by know means an expert at this and there are many ways to approach it but rather than just rely on habit, maybe this will inspire you to develop your methods. If you have tips for me, please add a comment too.

Normally, I don't offer advice as I think it is actually a hindrance to personal growth. I prefer to tell stories and people can pick at it and find what adds value to their lives. This time however, I am going to post some bullet points of things I do.

- Pay attention

Many people these days are so absorbed in their own activities or phone screen that they miss many of the little events that take place around them. These events are often content gold and they inspire deeper thinking if willing to invest some effort. The reason they are gold is because they are normal and relatable. Look and you will find the extraordinary in ordinary.

- Get creating now

Start writing in your head immediately. Pinpoint areas of interest, topics you want to cover and phrases and angles that come to mind. You may discover some truly profound language in these moments.

- Your memory sucks

Do not think you will remember these things though, write them down in more form and bullet it out if possible. If not, a title and a few keywords may tap your memory enough. I use the WordPress app to create a draft and take notes. No matter how good you think your memory is, life has the tendency to steal it away.

- Titles are important

I like weird titles for my posts but the titles of my drafts I use to jog my memory of the moment, I have about 350 unposted and I often scroll through and get inspired again. Sometimes, a new thought pops up and I add it in straight away.

- Make time

It doesn't matter how busy you are, there is always a few moments to jot a thought or two down. With enough of these, when there is space, it is easy to find something your mind is willing to work on. Often, I think I am going to write about one thing and my brain decides another. Go with it. When you are writing, other ideas will come, make a new draft for them.

- Go broad

They say 'stick to what you know'. If you follow that advice, you mustn't know much. Knowledge can never be complete and to expand it, you must go where you don't know. Experiment as you may find you know more about some things than you thought, and much less about some things than you thought. If you are looking to develop a skill, investigate it deep and wide.

- Talk to yourself

Not like a crazy person on the bus but having an ongoing narrative about your interests and posts can develop understanding and expose holes in knowledge. This conversation goes on anyway so rather than listen passively, participate instead.

- Explore yourself

Not like that. Discover who you are through your writing as it will help you better understand where you are and where you want to go. Passions are not found and they do not travel to find you. Passions are a discovered activity that attaches to your heart. If you want that feeling of deep meaning, you need to know who you are, not what you do.

- Have heart

Many posts here offer soulless information and no matter how useful it is to read, it is hard for me to be interested in the poster. We are all on a journey and when I read a post, I am part of their journey. I don't want to travel with a robot as a buddy. Having said that, I don't want to just read about every illness, ache and pain. No one's life is all sunshine and strawberries and cream either. Authenticity is key.

- Enjoy the process

Why are you doing this if it isn't enjoyable to do? For me this is work and if you have read some of my posts you will quickly realise I love work. Many work so they don't behave to work, I work so I can work more. That is me, but when you are writing, if you don't smile, laugh or maybe even cry occasionally, you may want to rethink your decisions.

- This is your portfolio

Models carry their headshots, investors their stocks. At Steemit, these are one and the same. If you are looking to get rewarded for your work, you have to be willing to invest your time and effort into it. Part of that is developing a good process.

- Consistency is practiced

To be consistent takes a lot of work. Anyone can get lucky and hit a hole in one but consistently shooting par is very hard indeed. The practice required is not through reputation of habits unless your habits already produce the results you want. If not, you need to step away, evaluate and adjust.

- Nothing is Easy

Well doing nothing may seem easy but in time it gets very hard to continue that way. There are many ways to approach life and writing and these are some of mine. I tend to take the path of difficulty though as I think that leads to higher skill levels. No mastered skill starts off at mastery but the first steps to brilliance can be easy indeed. The more steps on the road, the more challenge can be faced.

Any help?

Hopefully, there is something useful in here for you and it can provide some inspiration or motivation to build and develop yourself and share your stories. We all have value to add here just by being who we are and relating our personal experiences. This community is wide and deep and we can all learn from one another and add value along the way.

If this has helped you in any way, please share it along for others too.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I enjoy your content when I catch it intime.

My advice for you is quite obvious. You really need to only follow one blog so mute those other 1500 or so :P

Haaa oh well oh well 😜There are lots of members I need to support but I find them in my feed not on trending pages. I will follow a few more instead but would love to invite you to my steemit.chat DM there or join #mammasittas to post your links ☺️

Ah thanks. I didn't know that was a thing to do. I will use it sparingly as I post so often it may look like spam :)

It helps ! Try it ! I also felt it's worth to resteem for all my followers for more visibility, hoping it hellps your articles a bit 🐬 more...

would love to join the steemit chat. may I@mammasitta

writing ia not an easy thing to do. and also here, we need more time to get notice. juat like what you said on you post. laern more from you @tarazkp

Tarazkp, that's some great life advice , I'm sure many will profit if they would read thoroughly and apply. Me included. I also think that you structured your content perfectly .
Have a nice day,
Motan

Thank you very much. Hopefully it helps.

interesting!!
upvoted & followed ;)

Thank you, it is appreciated.

Have you at times wondered if there is such a thing as an unmotivated person? Most people haven’t thought about what motivates them. They reach a burnout level and don’t understand why.

Yes I have thought about it a lot. I am that person or at least, I was. The burnout is a lack of ubderstanding of personal systems I think, not the amount of work.

Great article

This two headings caught my attention
Consistency is pratice and nothing comes easy, reminds me of when i strtd my business. It wasnt an easy strt but bcos i kept being consistent which took alot of practice i must say, i became perfect and still growing in it.Coming to the second point nothing comes easy cant be over emphasised bcos for one to attain such great success he or she needs to sit up and work his or ass out😀😀😀. D funny thing is that it actually pays

appreciate your effort to put here this great content..upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27