I Wrote This 20 Years Ago - Original Prose From My Teenage Years!

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I wrote this prose 20 years ago, while I was a student at Medical School. I was chatting with an old friend on Facebook, telling her about Steemit and wishing if I had some of the poetry and prose I wrote when I was a teenager and I was surprised to find that she has hard copies of a few of the content I wrote 18-20 years ago.

I wrote this one in 1997.

Here are the scans of the prose I wrote 20 years ago in my own handwriting as sent to me by my friend. Sorry, about that coffee stain!!


Sprawling beneath his shadow,
with a desire pulsing in its core,
to invade his skull,
prey on his brain,
tearing the scars inside,
inviting the steps of furious pain

As it knocked on the back of his mind,
a tormenting scream echoed inside
refusing the torture of the invasion
but its desire devoured his weakness
jabbing its fangs inside his head
to infest his thoughts

Intoxicated by the venom,
he had to live through that agony again
A million "why?" burst inside his head
announcing the revival of the war
with questions fighting on his mind
seeking answers that will never be found
Trapped inside that vicious circle
conception of questions wasn't to be stopped
dispersing wonder through his soul.

The pain raged all through,
embracing every nerve inside,
but all of a sudden,
it all stopped.

As it stepped outside his head,
he breathed a deep sigh
allowing relief to wash his bleeding spirit.
However, it is still alive,
lurking beside its host,
sheltered by his body from the light,
sprawling beneath his shadow......

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Good stuff, thanks for sharing.. Coffee stains and all :)

Pretty powerful piece@tamersameeh.

That's a powerful poem, I like it! Very cool that your friend had a copy to send to you. It's nice to look back at things we did years ago!

Thanks. Yes, I still can't believe she had it for all those years. Yes, nice to look back at the past, but suddenly I realized that I have grown old to the point that I share things I wrote 20 years ago!

Dark and beautiful, loved it!

Thanks man, glad you liked it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45