My Last Known All Night Sleep

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, and welcome back to my memory lane type of blog, where I revisit my childhood, and maybe make you think of yours.

pexels-photo-101523.jpeg
Source

If you ever read my blog, you know I am not a morning person. This morning was no different, except my phone woke me up. To be more precise, my mother and her call woke me up. She is well aware that I don't like to talk when I wake up, and all I can do is nod my head (and that doesn't work on the phone, I tried!). So, she tried to talk to me, but with little success, and then she told me something that made me wonder (after I had my first coffee, of course).

"You slept so well as a child, and woke up every day chatty and smiley.."

She hung up, knowing that it would make me even more nervous. So, Minnie and I got up, got strait to the kitchen for her food and my coffee. When my morning grudge went away, my mothers sentence made more sense.

I took my photo-album out, you know those old ones that smell funny, and have the photos of the entire family, and your embarrassing childhood photos. Yes, that one! I always remember something more accurate and faster while looking at some photos. And then it hit me - my last well spent night was about 19 years ago. Long time!

I remembered the bed, my small children bed, pretty narrow, just enough space to fit one child. It was winter, and my parents liked to sleep in colder rooms, so they didn't warm our room too much before bed time. I had a BIG pillow, almost bigger then me, filled with feathers. And my mother would cover me with quilt, but this one was so unique and it's something I remember to this day. Those old quilts or duvets (how ever they are called) were so big and heavy, that you literally couldn't move until the morning. But at the same time, so warm and comforting. I cherish that bed and sleep more now then ever. And nights passed so quickly that for a long time I didn't believe my parents that I slept for hours or whole night.

During my collage is where I started to have really bad sleeping patterns. It was a very stressful time for my family, and the only time I could learn for my exams was during the night. And I reduced my sleep to 3 or 4 hours a night. And to this day I can't get all night sleep.
Maybe this is normal for an adult, but I would really like just one day in a week to sleep like I was sleeping then.

Be sure to leave me a comment, especially if you had those old, heavy duvets like I did.

With love,
Tamara

Sort:  

This is incredible! Love it. @tamacvet

You sleep like a baby. Literally. They wake up all the time.

Hahah, something like that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46