Steemit Critique #3 - It's About Quality Not Length StupidsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing6 years ago

image

One thing that really bothers me on Steemit is that many whales and dolphins and even minnows for whatever reason really care about the length of the posts.

People, length ain't equal quality and I'll prove it with some examples.


### Poems ![image]()

I'll share three amazing very short poems

Im nobody! Who are you?

by Emily Dickinson

I'm nobody! Who are you?
Are you nobody, too?
Then there's a pair of us -- don't tell!
They'd advertise -- you know!

How dreary to be somebody!
How public like a frog
To tell one's name the livelong day
To an admiring bog!

Still Here

by Langston Hughes

I been scared and battered.

My hopes the wind done scattered.

Snow has friz me,
Sun has baked me,

Looks like between 'em they done
Tried to make me

Stop laughin', stop lovin', stop livin'--
But I don't care!
I'm still here!

Fire and Ice

by Robert Frost

Some say the world will end in fire,
Some say in ice.

From what I've tasted of desire
I hold with those who favour fire.

But if it had to perish twice,
I think I know enough of hate
To say that for destruction ice
Is also great
And would suffice.


### Music ![image]() Here is a list of ten amazing under three minutes (some under two minutes) songs. No, I'm not a fan of the Ramones but they made so many good short songs, that's why I picked that picture. Anyway...

The Beatles - Yesterday
The Doors - The Crystal Ship
Jimi Hendrix - Castles made of sand
David Bowie – Breaking Glass
The Clash - White Riot
The Ramones - Blitzkrieg Bop
Blur - Song 2
The Smiths – Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want
The Vines – Highly Evolved
The White Stripes - Fell in love with a girl


Movies

image

And here is a list of great movies under 90 minutes.

City Lights (1931)
Rope (1948)
Rashomon (1950)
High Noon (1952)
The Killing (1956)
Breathless (1960)
Eraserhead (1977)
The Nightmare Before Christmas (1993)
Pi (1998)
Elephant (2003)


### Great books under 200 pages ![image]()

The Prince, by Niccolo Macchiavelli
Animal Farm, by George Orwell
The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Stranger - Albert Camus
Utopia, by Thomas More
Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck
The Importance of Being Earnest - Oscar Wilde
The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway
The Time Machine, by H.G. Wells
A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens


Of course I'm not comparing my shit to those masterpieces but I totally disagree with giving length so much importance and actually it shouldn't even be a thing to consider.

If anything a post that is too long should be considered a bad one, let's not forget that this is a social network not a "university network" and if so many people here keep being so serious and pedantic this place will never become huge. Maybe you want this place to be kind of a "nerd niche" or a crypto community but fuck that I want this place to be huge, I want this place to become bigger than Twitter (or why not, even bigger than Facebook) I want 1 Steem to be worth 100 US dollars one day but if you people keep acting like that, it will never happen.


image

For my other Steemit Critique Posts

Steemit Critique #2 — July 2018

Steemit Critique #1 — Manifesto

pics sources 1 2 3 4

Sort:  

I agree with your assessment. I try and keep it to a minimum and I constantly edit myself before posting if I feel like it's a bit long-winded or a tangent

For sure quality is more important that quantity, I think most people would agree on that though! ;D I guess some people just appreciate that posts are spend a long time writing instead of being a bunch of fast food posts. But I agree that a picture and a poem can at any time speak more than a thousand words

A short post doesn't mean that it wasn't well thought out and personally I'm not a fan of long posts because when I actually have the time to read three long posts, I prefer to read the news or a book instead....

I absolutely agree with you. K.I.S.S - 'Keep it Short and Sweet', or some would say 'Keep it Short, Stupid'. I much prefer short posts with message/messages conveyed precisely, to lengthy, beat around the bush posts. I would just give up reading when I find the post draggy and boring.

Exactly. I feel like a lot of people here are just like teachers or professors but not smart ones...

In the end, quality matters.

When I was finishing up my advanced degree, one of my professors (pretty famous in historian circles and on PBS) made us write book reviews (books averaged 500 pages) on index cards. No room for fluff on index cards. Short is best - a sign of superb editing.

It's not about any of that. It's about playing the system and having a crew or team to prop up your posts... In reality, this is exactly what the whales do... They mostly only up vote content from their friends, associates or business partners so that they can abuse the system for their own benefits and ignore genuinely good posts... This is what most of us do, not often are people genuinely upvoting quality content. I've been on Steemit for over a year nothing has changed with how whales use the site.

Yeah I know bro and it is very frustrating to see that...

Can not stress that more quality should always prevail.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75