The Power of Suggestion(s)

in #writing7 years ago

This post was co-published at talanhorne.com. The "site" mentioned herein is my own website.

I've got some ideas for the site. Let me know what you think.

First, I'm giving each miniseries its own "page", consisting of a table of contents that allows for easy browsing. The whole "reverse chronological order" setup is great for regular followers. But there are a lot of people who aren't regular enough to be aware of the best posts I've put out. So I'm going to make it easy.

You can see links to the new pages at the top of the site. A few are still under construction. I also plan to include a "contact" page, making it easy to email me.

Also, things are getting close to becoming serious, with putting out new books and all, which means I'm going to have to do a bit more explaining of the work I've been doing all this time. Stay tuned for sudden newsflashes.

Apart from that, I'm pooped, so I will end this post with a simple plea.

Don't Be Afraid to Request Stuff


Have questions about writing, but don't want to ask them to a professional who might laugh at you? Just send them to me, because when I laugh at you, it hurts less.

Want me to review a certain piece on Netflix? Might as well make a recommendation. Now, I cannot take all suggestions in this arena, as there are some shows and movies that I simply can't review. But it won't hurt to ask, I promise.

Have any questions about who I am and what ulterior motives I have for luring you to my blog? Ask away. You may be attacked by a former children's show host, or get mercilessly contradicted by a lawyer in the employ of the forces of darkness, but it's worth it to get those answers, right?

Don't Make Me Resort to Libel


Other than that, I'm just trying to think of a way to attract more traffic that won't make me hate myself. I mean, the easiest way to generate buzz is to do something despicable, like write a fake news story about a celebrity that's so heinous that it may get me sued. But there is money to be made in such efforts, sadly enough.

Don't Be Afraid of Change


Because it is a comin'. I never feel satisfied with how my blog is going, even though it is always getting better. I'll keep doing what I can on my end, but I appreciate whatever input you can give me.

Sorry for the short post. I'll come up with something more useful next week. Until then, I love you all.

Sort:  

We really desperately need the "Steemit gods" to keep their promises and make our old posts editable... Then we could have truly useful, up-to-date hierarchical tables of contents maintainable right here on Steemit.

I keep writing and moaning about this, but (it seems) nobody at the right levels is listening... :(

😄😇😄

@creatr

The wheels of Steemit move slowly, I'm afraid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73