You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Finals: The Dolbin School Book 4 -Chapter 8 The Work Out----Also the book is now available for Preorder on Kindle

in #writing7 years ago

Middle Grade is such a hard demographic to write for, wouldn't you agree?

You end up caught between the megalithic genres of Kids' Lit and YA. The audience expects the readability of the former yet also some of the more sophisticated storylines of the latter. And like the planet Earth, if you move too far in either direction, it can spoil the whole thing.

I don't want to discourage you by any means, but I have noticed some marked improvements over your older stuff. And I wonder if the difficulty inherent in Middle Grade fiction has been a boon to your progress, or whether your evolution would actually be faster were it happening in a different environment.

But don't take anything I say too seriously! I am, after all, just idly wondering things aloud on my couch while reading Steemit. There are a lot more people who are a lot more qualified to give such input.

Cheerio.

Sort:  

I call these middle grade because as a teacher I know the reading level. And these would be aimed for those about 10 years old and older.

And thanks for saying my writing is getting better, that certainly is my hope. I keep reading other works and try to add it here, and with anything the more you do it the better you should get.

I started my book writing career off doing 1st grade and 2nd grade picture books, and then as an experiment I wrote the first of this series, and was told by both students and adults that they liked it. And then the sales followed. This series is my biggest seller, so that motivates it.

As a fifth grade teacher I got immediate feedback on the first books, and could tell what worked and what didn't, and adjusted.

But I call them middle grade, because of my teaching experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.028
BTC 60580.16
ETH 2342.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47