New Year's Day Blues

in #writing7 years ago

This post was co-published at talanhorne.com.

It's been well documented that New Year's Day falls exactly one week after Christmas. It sets up quite the anticlimax, as the latter holiday lives forever in the shadow of the former.

It also complicates things when Christmas falls on a Monday, and I dedicate a special post to it, because then I feel obligated to create a big and special New Year's post.

Which is unfortunate, because I don't have a lot to say about New Year's Day.

Kind of Falls Apart, When You Think about It


The whole idea behind New Year's traditions is that they are celebrations of coming change, with the idea that everyone is being given a second chance to make a great year. It's all about self improvement.

But the thing about self improvement is that you can do it at any time. You don't have to wait until the New Year, and in most cases, you probably shouldn't wait. If you've got an issue that needs working on, you're better off working on it right now, on whatever day of the year you happen to be at.

That people choose this one arbitrary date to begin reengineering their lives is counterproductive.

I've Already Got my Resolution


As for what I plan to do with my upcoming year, the answer is already known to anyone who follows me: I plan to sell a book. But I've already been embroiled in that effort for a while. I didn't wait for New Year's Eve to begin this process.

So the New Year's celebration is a bit less important to me. It may be important to you, and I don't want to knock your traditions. It's not wrong to change your life on January 1st, as long as you aren't restricting yourself to only making changes on that date.

In any case, I don't have much to report for New Year's Day. I'm going to keep working towards the same goals I've had for most of the last year.

I do, however, expect a lot of good things to happen in 2018. I am determined to sell a book in that time, and I am prepared to take steps to make that happen. But it occurs to me that other parts of my life will likely improve during that time---sometimes without any effort on my part. Technology is changing the world in rapid ways. And as I participate in those technologies, I have become part of that change.

Just as a few possibilities that 2018 holds:

  • Crypto is probably going to get bigger than ever.
  • Netflix is going to go new places and give me all sorts of new content to review.
  • I'll probably make at least a few new friends.
  • I'll likely travel to a few places I've never been before.
  • Someone is going to realize that the book I'm offering is what they've been waiting for.
On the whole, I could not be more optimistic about what the future holds, and in that spirit I can genuinely say:
Happy New Year!
 

You are all awesome for sticking with me this long. I'm going to show you all what I'm made of, and things are going to be better than ever.

Thank you for being one of my readers. I hope you'll stay with me until the dream comes true.

Until then, I wish you all the happiness you can possibly get without breaking the law.

Sort:  

Its really magnificent and I promise you that I will continue to be your reader.

Thank you @talanhorne and Have a great day.

Happy New Year 2018
If it didn't bring you joy
just leave it behind
Let's ring in the new year
with good thing in mind....

Let every bad memory
That brought heartache and pain
And let's turn new leaf
with the smell of new rain...

Let's forget past mistakes
Making amends for this year
sending you these greetings
to bring you hope and cheer
HAPPY NEW YEAR - 2018

Thank you for being one of the people
who made this world a wonderful place to live in.
I pray that you’ll be blessed with good health, security, success, peace and joy.
Happy New Year 2018 to @talanhorne sir and your family

🌟。❤。😉。🍀
。✨ 。🎉。🌟
✨。\|/。💫
Happy New Year
🌟。/|\。🍻
。🍀。 🍸。🎉。
🌟。 💫。 🎶 💥

i am always here for support no worries :) have a great year !!

Good writing ..Writing is very hard.

For your post propagation.
Upvote/Resteem
@talanhorne

HaPpY NeW yEaR

My wishes for you are not limited to just the next year. Have a fun-filled, smashing,
rocking and happening New Years…
My wishes for you are not limited to just the next year.
Have a fun-filled, smashing, rocking and happening New Years 2018.Upvote and resteem done done.

My wishes for you are not limited to just the next year. Have a fun-filled, smashing,
rocking and happening New Years…

images.jpg

****** Wish your happy new year******
--2018--
This is great post and great writing experience.
Thank you @talanhorne
Upvote Resteem

This is professional writing experience and great work.
Upvote Resteem

@talanhorne,
Peaceful and prosperous new year to you. We can't predict what to do in future. But we can keep positive aims. Across the going away we can win those goal. Wish you success in this year.

images (2).jpg

.

My wishes for you are not limited to just the next year.
Have a fun-filled, smashing, rocking and happening New Years 2018.Upvote and resteem done done.

My wishes for you are not limited to just the next year. Have a fun-filled, smashing,
rocking and happening New Years…

HaPpY NeW yEaR

Upvote and resteem done done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46