A village with a single loo in Nepal

in #writing6 years ago

There are 78 households in Thaprang village of Chitwan district. Only one house—that of Bhadra Bahadur Chepang, a member of the local government—has a proper toilet.
“I built the toilet so that others would see it and be inspired to build toilets in their own homes,” says Bhadra Bahadur. “But so far no one else has done it.”
It is not that all villagers are unaware of the importance of toilets. Raj Bahadur Chepang, now 70, has long wanted to build one at his house. But Raj Bahadur says he does not have the money and so he and his family continue to defecate inside a nearby forest.
“If the government gives me building material I too will be able to have a toilet at my house,” says Raj Bahadur.
As the residents of this predominantly-Chepang village defecate in the open, often out of compulsion, the nearby forest and open spaces have become extremely dirty. The situation is no different in other villages around Thaprang.
Chamre Chepang, another local, also says that he too desperately wants a toilet but has no money for it. “When nature calls we have no option but to run to the nearest gully or forest,” he says.

toilet-chitwan-5a88deea8697f5.13978211.jpg
Bhadra Bahadur Chepang stands outside the toilet he built, which is also the only toilet in his village. PHOTO: Anil Dhakal

Sort:  

In Africa, there are a couple of villages like this. People often use the bushes to pass out excreta.

So you read the heading and saw the photo only? This is not my loo. I am reporting about someone in the rural region of Nepal. For someone at reputation 53, this is a very generic ''spam like'' comment from you with no new inputs.

Pardon me if I offended you man. I don't spam. I hurriedly read this at work while returning from break. I was impressed and then decided to drop a comment.

Errrm. Generic? Well, I'm sorry is all I can say. Maybe I shouldn't have commented in the first place.

I would not want a comment to tarnish my reputation.

I commented because I once lived in a town where everyone used the bushes to answer nature's call instead of toilets.

It was a difficult time for me then and I just wanted to connect on that.
So sorry.

@jotmax it's very unwise to comment like this. Remember my friend change yourself and you can change the world for people of south africa. Be kind and equal to everyone. This is our true humanity.

@leoumesh I accept my error.
However, it is important to explain that I commented in a haste as I was returning from lunch break.

It is an offence to use social media at work.
Notwithstanding, I am not a South African.
Thanks.

That really is a worse situation especially during night times , people would be scary to go into the forests . Government should come up with a solution . I'm glad to say that the same situation once prevailed in my country but the government stood firmly and donated funds to build the toilets . Media should spread the information until the government notices the problem

In villages, main problem is to discharge sevarage to some proper location. that is why most of the villages do not have toilets. and having no toilets saves villagers from several diseases as well.

Look at our government, they will go to Thailand, Singapore if they had a headache and here people are still struggling to live healthy life😣. It's shame for them.

Did you even read the post? Nothing funny in this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40