You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tesla Model X: Test Drive and Thoughts (ecoTrain)

in #writing7 years ago

I'm very glad to see that all sorts of electric vehicles are becoming more mainstream. I've long looked forward to a time when cities are free from petrol engines and a traffic jam would be still and silent and non polluting.
Some electric vehicles seem quite pointless, like those hover boards that some kids are zipping about on, and electric bikes. Really, I think that a bicycle or skateboard are better as they keep you fit and are extremely efficient.

One of my main concerns about tesla products and the rise of battery storage, is where is all the lithium going to come from?

Sort:  

This is a very good point to raise! Do you have sources that dive into the subject of lithium shortages on the Earth, or the energy required to produce the batteries themselves? I'd be willing to back up the post with a sort of TESLA part-2 on just that subject.

What I wonder about is where all that lithium is going to go after....

The bicycle just AWESOME! , I have to agree there.

I looked into it a bit and didn't get any satisfactory answers. From what I can tell , lithium comes from digging big holes in the ground and it's quite a toxic process to extract it. As for the batteries - at this stage their lifespan is limited and they are non recyclable and have to be carefully disposed of because of toxicity.
I am also somewhat concerned about the so called 'giga-factories' being built by Tesla to meet the demands for their products.
Saying all that, I'm still fairly optimistic about the future of clean energy.

The bicycle is the most efficient machine ever made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45