You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Timeline

in #writing6 years ago

Another interesting post my friend. As I get older this rings true more and more. In fact part of my time on here is about writing my life story for the permanent blockchain record hopefully allowing future generations the opportunity to read for themselves and who knows possibly remind me about when I'm old and knackered. Writing the good memories has been extremely beneficial for me and allowed me to realise that I did live life to the full sometimes and those times are the times we remember most and cherish as you said. I endeavour to continue on in this vain until I no longer can :)

Sort:  

I made a post two months ago stating the same reasons; "My reason for using Steemit is... was to use the Steemit blockchain to preserve that part of me I can manage to get into writing to create The Archive of Will. This seems like as secure a place to keep documentation that will be widely available and not get lost by people are not as concerned with preserving my past as I am. I have been keeping a journal for over 20 years and a lot of my past is embedded in those 6,000 pages!

I have somewhat of a technical background and have done work-related research as well as personal genealogical research and have learned the value of written records. I'm getting over the need to have my literary brilliance adored by the reading public and can spend more time preparing content for the blockchain that are the building blocks of my life.

Kudos to you for having both the vision and desire to preserve history. My gut tells me that it is the things you and I write that will have the most value to society in the very long run. Very, as in a few centuries ...or millennia.

Too bad there is no way to get a complete DNA code posted along with it!

Work towards that, young fella!

Thanks willymac. I'm not very technical but am learning all the time. Maybe I will first bury a time capsule with some hair trimmings and the like. Getting a DNA code posted may be as simple as pressing a button soon enough. I'll remember in the future if not.

I don't think they have fully decoded the human genome yet and it would be too expensive to have one done anyway, so waiting would be best idea.

I did have my mitrochondrial DNA decoded by Oxford Ancestors a few years ago to verify my family origins, and that was pretty cool! (Yep, that's the word...shows when my language patters were formed) Good to know i'm from an uninterrupted stream of women back 23,000 years to the general area of Northern Spain. I keep that in the "for what it's worth" drawer.

HINT: Save a tooth along with the other samples. It has the most durable structure for protecting DNA.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46