You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Foot

in #writing6 years ago

Beautifully written, very touching. You still had all of your humanity. You were yet to be handed over to the state education system. The experience obviously changed how you see animals. I wonder did it change how you see humans?

Sort:  

Thank you, @steemonkey.

That is an interesting question about how I perceive humans. That incident plus many confirming instances throughout my life of people stating very firmly that animals do not have feelings has convinced me that people are capable of thoughtless, uncaring, and purely evil things to animals. I have seen it first hand and each time I lose more faith in humanity. .

Even without the early event, I probably would be as I am now, except for the soft spot for elephants. I am convinced that people who do not believe animals have feelings are themselves not capable of rational thought and that places all their other capabilities under suspicion also. They are missing empathy and that is a regulator for human actions we cannot do without.

Some things cannot be overlooked; things such as a child watching neighbors slaughter pigs and hearing them laugh at the futile efforts to escape and the screams of being slowly having their throats cut. Anyone who thinks that is funny is not human.

Overall, I would chose a random pig or elephant over a random human male.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49