What I do in my work as an Editor

in #writing8 years ago

As an Editor, I work with an Author to get the manuscript as close to perfect and polished as possible. The Author and I are in partnership for the time it takes to edit and polish the manuscript. We both want the same thing, and only together can we make it happen.

I correct spelling, punctuation, and some formatting.

I advise on grammar and suggest revision where necessary. Not the act of revision, ie: revising for an exam or test, but taking the manuscript or article and amending how it’s written.

I can also help to point the Author in the best (my opinion) direction for the sake of the book, the Author and, in the future, the Reader.

I can also sometimes see where the Author is about to get themselves slapped with take down notices – or worse, lawsuits – for publishing articles or letters that were not theirs to publish.

For example, one of the books I edited had a number of private correspondences included. I pointed out that the writer of the book must ask for (and receive) permission to use the letters.

“But they were sent to me…” she protested.

“Unless you ask the original writer of those letters, they are yours to read, but not to share with a wider audience than the writer originally imagined,” I explained.

The Author of the book actually took legal advice on the matter and dropped the letters from her book when she received the second opinion from a lawyer. She could have opened herself up for legal action against her if the other person decided to take the matter further.

At the end of the first edit, the Author would work on the manuscript to either accept the changes (clearly marked) or reject / make their own.

The Author works on the advised revisions before returning the document for a second round of edits.

As Editor, I take no responsibility for changes suggested by myself but rejected by the Author.

If the Author decides he/she doesn’t want to bother with revising the document despite recommendations, the Editor’s work is then considered to be completed, finished and signed off.

Payment would be expected to be completed before the work is published unless other arrangements are made.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31