I Will Write A Novel Next Month - Join Me!

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

In less then a week I am going to write approximately 1667 words every day for a month, because my goal is to write 50,000 words in November.

HISTORY: I have failed to reach this goal twice in the past. I have never succeeded. So, you ask, why am I setting a goal which I can't attain? First, I believe I can accomplish this goal. I am working hard to set myself up for success. I have outlined, set aside time, informed family and friends that I will be hard to reach, and told the world that I am going to do this. Second, coming up short is not failing - it is winning.

That's right. Even if I can't write 50,000 words in 30 days, making this attempt is a big win for me. How? I love writing. I dream of writing for a living. Getting millions of dollars for every book I publish and taking vacations paid for by my amazing success. Ok, reality check time. How many books did I write last year? None. How many books did I start last year? None. Why not? I don't write books without putting words on the pages. Getting any words written is a win.

Let's talk about writing for a living. News flash: very few authors write for a living. News flash: even fewer get paid millions for their books. One of the most successful authors living right now is Stephen King. Writes for a living? Check. Millions per book? Check. Movie deals? Check. Television deals? Check. What is Stephen King's approach to writing?

"I like to get ten pages a day, which amounts to 2,000 words. That’s 180,000 words over a three-month span, a goodish length for a book — something in which the reader can get happily lost, if the tale is done well and stays fresh." King, Stephen. On Writing: a Memoir of the Craft. Hodder, 2012.

That's 2000 words a day, every day. Not one month per year - every month - every year!

So, what is writing 1667 words every day for a month about? It's about creating a daily writing habit. It's about putting words towards a novel. It's about writing because I want to be an author. It's about writing when I don't feel inspired. It's about taking a step toward writing every day year round. It's about writing. I know I can do this!

If you want to do something amazing, if you want to write a book, if you want to develop a writing habit -- why not join me? Head over to https://nanowrimo.org// and create your free account. Push yourself a little and see how far you can go. Win with me in November!

Thank you to pixabay and https://nanowrimo.org// for the images contained in this post. All images are used with permission. Special thank you to @beanz for the inspiration to write this post.

Sort:  

Inspiring post, hope it goes well this year :)

I hope so too. :D

Thanks for attending Thursday’s Pimp Your Post Thursday @steemitgraven29. I have written a post to share your featured post from last night. Just stopping back to let you know that you can see your [name in lights](https://steemit.com/pypt/@shadowspub/pimp-your-post-thursday-report-from-october-26th) right here. (Just kidding about the lights :)

I'm about 10,000 words into my novel so far. Can I participate in this? Or does it have to be a new one?

Don't let any "rules" keep you from participating. If you want to go from 10k - 60k that's good to go. Don't listen to anyone that says differently. Join me!

This is such an awesome post! What a goal wow. I love that you have admitted to not making it at times but I love that you want to do this.

There isn't anything I want more than to get myself in a writing habit. One that I can continue into December and beyond. NaNo is the perfect jumping off point! You can try it too if you want.

I am not gonna lie that would be crazy. I haven't even finished a chapter of anything before. I just did my first short story recently, was tougher than I thought. Maybe, I will see. But I love that you want to make it a habit and that you never give up

I might have to take this challenge again this year, even though I really don't have enough time.

I know what you are going through. If you think you can do it - try! I think it is win-win no matter what.

Thats a real challenge but you can do it

Thanks. I know you are right.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78