Victim Of The Time

in #writing7 years ago

One hundred years ago, we earned the right to speak
Before a woman had it, the future looked so bleak
Half a nation silenced, only for our sex
Blood and tears and sweat, got us to the next

Why is justice different, solely for the day
Why is Right not Right, all along the way
Why are so many hurting, let's change the paradigm
Don't tell me I don't know, I'm a victim of the time

Fifty years ago, people won the right to eat
In that same damn diner, where I saw that man get beat
If eyes could see no color, lives we could've saved
For them I have no patience, who keep all men enslaved

Why is justice different, solely for the day
Why is Right not Right, all along the way
Why are so many hurting, let's change the paradigm
Don't tell me I don't know, I'm a victim of the time

Two years ago about this time, We were granted the right to LOVE
Kate and Jenny married, stars crossed from high above
They were bullied and abandoned, for almost all their lives
Nearly broken by the people, with words and fists and knives

Why is justice different, solely for the day
Why is Right not Right, all along the way
Why are so many hurting, let's change the paradigm
Don't tell me I don't know, I'm a victim of the time

By Steemeupscotty20170919_154454.jpg

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @steemeupscotty! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61691.46
ETH 3047.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88