You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Democracy Vs Dictatorship: Why I Choose Dictatorship

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

I'm surprised, based on your closing statement, that you would speak of Athens as a successful endeavor as if you were a live in the fifth century to witness it. We can't know that, nor can we know whether the so-called primitive democracies that developed in ancient civilizations such as Mesopotamia proved to be successful.

I refuse to believe that every dictatorship was evil. I know they say that power corrupts, and absolute power corrupts absolutely, yet I think to entertain the belief that every man that ever held a position of great authority was corrupted by that powers, is to give up on humanity.

Qaddafi for me, speaks to me of the integrity that one can retain even with complete power of a nation, and a lot of pull over a continent. Sure, he was a bit of a narcissist, but he loved his people and he died for them in the end.

I try not to be insensitive here, but are you certain of how your grandfather and his family died, and who was directly responsible for it? I ask only because I would trust a reliable witness testimony a lot more than I would that of something printed in a book, so this would be a good piece of information for me.

I do not know what you mean by my post is so apologetic that you don't know if I believe what I have written. I think it was portrayed clearly within the post that I didn't believe a lot of what I was writing for sure, because it was--in my opinion--not completely trustworthy information.

Thanks for the message.

Sort:  

I would really like to address the points you raised in your reply one by one, but I think you are raising important issues that deserve longer answers. So if you don't mind, I will post a reply to your post. A case for democracy, if you please (although I hope to explain why our democracies do seem to be rather disfunctional). And link it to a reply to this post.

As to what happened to my great grandfather and his family. The events of July 1941 in Nazi occupied Riga are well documented, and we have sound testimonials, based on a research done by the "Yad Va Shem" institute, that my great grandfather and his family were among those who were burnet alive in a tourched sinagouge, at the night of July 4th. In any case, the entire Jewish population of Riga, save 1000 people, was murdered by the Nazis in a matter of few months. Most of them were murderd in shooting pits outside the city.

Thank you for clarifying that for me.
The intention of this post was to inspire a discussion so of course I do not mind if you want to continue in depth in a post of your own.
I look forward to reading it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57684.56
ETH 3120.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33