My hunting and fishing experience in GeorgiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing5 years ago (edited)

Growing up in the Los Angeles, California hunting and hunters are frowned upon for the most part. I didnt meet many people that went fishing or hunting.. Probably because the later was pretty restricted. Since moving to Georgia I see hunting TV shows, massive hunting stores like Cabelas and an overall more open attitude towards hunting.

There are certain parks and shooting ranges only open to hunters, and during hunting season the hunters get the right of way on the trails. That sign is such a location (Wildcat Creek Campground) requires a hunting or fishing license.. or a lands pass though I dont know of anyone that gets those.

After living a year or two in Georgia I took the hunters education course. An requirement for getting a hunting license. I read the materials and at the end of the course I attended a final training day at a hunters lodge ran by the State of Georgia. A ranger taught the class and showed us hands on with mock guns on how to hold them and the basics of shotgun operation.

I even helped my friend @ryulincoln get his hunting license too.. though by the time he got his it was 100% online. Which was different from my lodge experience..

Once I got my licence I went out with my Uncle during deer season and sat in a tree stand for hours. Did not get anything.

I've gone squirrel hunting and the same, spent ours outdoors to come across none. And more recently I went squirrel hunting again and did not get anything.

Though just sitting in the woods completely still has a special feeling worth it just by itself without catching anything.

I hope to get something during a hunting season in the future. And even my fishing luck has really sucked too not catching anything in the wild streams and lakes I've visited. All ive lost is a bunch of lures and fishing line.

But just by having this licence. I can open carry a gun while fishing. And I highly doubt fishermen could carry pistols in California.

Eventhough Mountain Lions have killed many people in the California wilderness. Gun laws stay strict in California, and hunting for Mountain Lions is very restrictive there. Glad I can protect myself from Wild Hogs and Bears in Georgia. And just walking through the woods looking for fishing spots have really helped me appreicate nature more. I'm glad I became a hunter and fishermen. Eventhough my luck and skill at finding game has been pretty lousy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

enjoy your time :)

@o4wx thanks alot.. I sure did.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 5.91% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Evergreen

Posted using Partiko Android

@shuvo35 some them are.. mostly pines

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.634 which ranks you at #6084 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 125 places in the last three days (old rank 6209).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 152 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77