Similarities Between K-pop Billboard Chart and Steemit ㅡ Diary of a Rookie Singer: What Whale Has That You Don't.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

sochul socool.jpg


I've been here in Steemit for a month and a half now. While watching the trending posts with whales and other posts with 0 dollars, several questions came into my mind. Why some people get lots of reward no matter what they post, while seemingly great posts (usually from minnows) get only tiny reward? What is the difference? Is it solely dependent on the value of the contents? Or is there something else I don't know? And most important, what has to be done to encourage those minnows before they get disappointed and leave Steemit?

Then I had an epiphany and put them in words. This is the result: A flash short novel, "Similarities Between K-pop Billboard Chart and Steemit ㅡ Diary of a Rookie Singer. What Whale Has That You Don't."

Hope you enjoy this novel and find out why you should keep writing quality postings in Steemit.


He blinked and stared hard on the monitor, which showed K-pop Billboard Charts. When realizing his name was nowhere to be found, he sighed and clicked the website closed. He had spent so much time and effort to make his song, but it couldn't enter the castle of K-pop charts. It was his life-long dream to become a professional singer since when he didn't even know. After arduous and painstaking work, he finally became a singer and made his debut album. But that was it. Nobody in the world knew he was a singer. Nobody's heard of his songs. It's not that he was forgotten. He simply didn't have a chance to show the world what he got.

When you come to think of it, it was not surpring at all. Big superstars and unknown rookies lived in two different worlds - two completely different worlds. When he first made up his mind to become a singer, his dream was to be like a famous Big Superstar: Whale. Everybody liked and followed Whale. Everybody cheered when he appeared. I want to be like him!, he thought. I could be him if only I try hard enough.

The reality, however, was far from what he had expected. Being a great singer was one thing and being famous was another. Some singers, he regretted to say, couldn't even carry a tune without help from Autotune, but still they were famous beyond belief. No matter what they sang, their songs were firmly located at the top of the K-pop charts. Some singers were awful to hear, but with their pretty face and sexy dance moves, they always appeared TV shows, trending charts and earned multiple grands.

Meanwhile, a singer he knew had a great voice once said he'd do anything if his song aired on the radio. It was hard to believe this remarkable singer was still unkown to the world. And yet, he was. Once you became famous, you'd get spotlight whenever you release new songs. But that seemed like an impossible task to achieve. Even promotion cost a lot of money. If you were a singer belonged to the big entertainment companies like "Steem Power" or "Power-Up", you'd have no problem. But if you belonged to a small company like "Minnows", there was not much you could do.

He knew many singers with great talent suffered from lack of reward. They watched in pain that the beautiful songs they made dissappear under the trending posts, faster than you could say "Upvote." When this happened enough to realize it was not worth to put in more effort, they just gave up and left in disgust.

He heaved a sigh again. He knew that some famous singers used to get less than a dollar for their songs when they first started out, but he was not sure if he could endure like them. Whenever he checked his Wallet, he was tempted to quit, too.

He opened the website and checked the Chart again. He could see all those famous Big Superstar singers: Whale, I'mWhale, MetooWhale, Dolphin, Soontobe-Whale, BlueWhale, Wale.

What makes them so special? What makes them different from me?, he thought. Whale was a fantastic singer. I'mWhale was not a great singer but her dance moves and performance were hands-down wonderful. MetooWhale was like a goddess. Dolphin was a good actor and a superstar even before he released that album. Soontobe-Whale's voice just melted you. BuleWhale was famous for its hook-song with tunes that'll never leave your head all day. Wale was topnotch in his swag and rap.

Analyzing the top singers, surprising epiphany dawned on him. Until now he thought "Singer is supposed to sing well." But what was it that "sing well?" These big singers, Superstar Whales had their own glamour. They attracted followers with their irresistible charms; be it their voice, singing skills, performance, or appearance. They didn't get to where they were just by complaining.

This seemed like a good thing to him. Even though he agreed that a singer must sing well, you could always find better and greater singers. "Singing Well" should not be his only weapon: He should be armed with guns and swords, bows and all. Maybe, if he was able to find his own charms and appeal them to people, he could be a superstar, too.

So, what is my charm? What is it that I do well? What value can I put into the world? He started to write down.

Voice, performance, guitar player, appearance.

He revised it after a quick glance to the mirror.

Voice, performance, guitar player, appearance.

He knew this much was true.

Before shutting down the computer, he googled his own name. It was out of habit and not that he expected to see anything, becaues it always came with empty results. But this time, something new caught his eyes. A post from a blogger:

I love this guy. He's a great singer. It makes me sad that nobody seems to know this guy. So I'm writing about this singer in today's post. I hope he keeps releasing new albums.

Oh, man. He couldn't help but smile. He was wondering who in the world downloaded his song, and here it was. His first (and hopefully not last) fan. It was very tiny reward, but he was happy. Until now he didn't know that having someone recognize your songs and encourage you would be this wonderful. All my effort didn't go in vain after all, he relieved. He felt thankful.

After shutting down the computer, he went out the door. Moping in front of K-pop chart was not his style. The evening wind felt fresh upon his face.

Yes, I will find my own charms and keep making valuable songs. I'll try to communicate with people who share the same thoughts. I'd better finish up that song I left undone a few weeks ago.

Dreaming his bright future as a Whale, his face broke into a big smile.

This singer's name was "Newbie".


Did you enjoy it?
This article is written by my friend @ bree1042.
He is 'newbie' in the kr community.

Even though he wrote very well, it would hurt to get so low compensation because he was newbie.
So, with the permission of @bree1042, I upload this post back to my blog, not resteem.

I want more steemians to read this article.
I hope many steemians will follow @bree1042 and share many things.
He is much better at English than I am, so I am confident that the steemians who follow him can talk to him a lot about literature.

All 100% of the writer's reward for this article will be forwarded to @bree1042, the original author of this article.
I have done the same thing in the kr community, and today I gave him 100% of the artist compensation.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @sochul! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Amazing post you i like it very much

I sincerely hope you will be my friend and follow-me friend @bree1042.
I think he is a true writer unlike me.

ㅋㅋ마지막 반전(?)이!!! 재밌게 잘 읽었습니다 .

@ico-altcoin님도 오셨네요 ^^
@bree1042님은 작정하고 밀어드리고 싶은 진짜 작가신지라 ^^
이런 방식으로라도 도와드리고 싶어서 올렸답니다~

읽어주셔서 감사합니다~

Hiiii Sochul nice to read about you.i am Manas from india,am also a new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.i have followed you.so, can you also follow me.Best of luck.

Great idea, good luck.

@flyingfish93 My friends
Thank you.
Because you know my heart ...

I sincerely hope you will be my friend and follow-me friend @bree1042.
I think he is a true writer unlike me.

welcome to steemit
i wish you enjoy in this community and always sharing something good everytime
thank you

@gunawanramli My friends
Thank you.
Because you know my heart ...

I sincerely hope you will be my friend and follow-me friend @bree1042.
I think he is a true writer unlike me.

Upvoted & RESTEEMED! :)

@ipkiss My friends
Thank you.
Because you know my heart ...

I sincerely hope you will be my friend and follow-me friend @ bree1042.
I think he is a true writer unlike me.

소철님, 정말 감동입니다. 엉엉~ ㅠ.ㅠ
뭐라고 글을 써야할지 모르겠네요. 이렇게 전폭적으로 지지해주시니 힘이 납니다. 고맙습니다. ^^

브리님은 이곳에서 내가 만난 참작가라 생각합니다. ^^
최선을 다해 저보다 먼저 가시라고 밀어드리고 싶습니다~
다행히 kr에서보다 더 높은 보상이 가능할 듯 싶네요~

브리님 글이 좋아서 그렇겠죠? ^^

@sochul Welcome to Steemit
Hope you share something good
Thank you

Hii Sochul nice to read about you.i am surendra from india,am also a new on steemit and welcome you to steemit.i have followed you.so, can you also follow me.Best of luck and also upvote me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61423.30
ETH 3383.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54