You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saying you 'regret' having kids isn't the same as regretting your kids

in #writing8 years ago

Thank you for writing this post. As a father and stepfather I can relate to this. At times it's been very difficult. You just want to get away from the frustration, attitudes, and just the lack of gratitude. Yet, there are small, very brief moments that make parenting all worth it.

I don't think it's wrong to read up on books and try to learn from others. People have been having kids since the dawn of time and have gone through exactly what new parents go through. So, why not read on what others have done in the past. For me, I take the advise of others and make it my own. This is because there is only one me and my kids. I have to adjust the advise based on who we are as people, our attitudes, and the things that are happening around us right now.

I agree, regret is a strong word. I don't regret having and accepting kids into my life. I just wish I was better prepared with the finances, new personalities, and at time the mental exhaustion. Yet, who is ever prepared for something new that occurs in their life. The only way to become great at something is to go through all the hard times of learning it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44