You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: NOTES FROM AN AMATEUR WRITER #46 - Why Do I Write?

in #writing7 years ago

But I don't want to just spew out blackness. I do want to create words that matter, that touch people, that bring some sense of hope, even if they grow out of a soil that is laden with despair. There is always hope. Writing has shown me that. It is a way out of the trap of despair, loneliness, and confusion. Imagination is the gift of childhood, and writing allows me an excuse to return to that time in a positive way.

Hope is what we have even when everything is lost. Even if we're doomed, we can believe in betterworlds. And even though we've suffered, we can write about our experiences in the hope that others will not have to suffer so much. Beautiful piece, thanks for sharing.

As for where those thoughts come from... our subconscious is incredibly smart, smarter than our consious mind, and it can collect such an amazing amount of data that we're never consciously aware of. I have learned to trust in the process, because oftentimes my subconscious understands where we are going even if I don't - and when I look back I see that I have been building great things without ever really understanding why I'm doing it until much later.
'
That's why it's important to act, to do, to write, even without a full understanding of why we're doing it - our subconscious understands why we want to do those things, even if in the moment it confuses us,.

Sort:  

I have often been amazed at the depths of the subconscious, and even it's apparent guiding hand in the direction I take. if I listen, that is Like you say - do, write, act, even if the full understanding isn't there. The number of times something so seemingly trivial like picking up a particular book to read has turned out to be just what I needed to read at that point in time. Perhaps it flowed out of earlier - yet unobserved - agreements or understanding that I had reached internally? The subconscious releasing somethings for processing, or new data entering the subconscious?

Thanks for reading and sharing your thoughts.

When your subconscious has you standing before an open door, don't let reason interfere - as @snowmachine hints, step through, the hidden wisdom of your subconscious may have worked out the advantage of doing so long before.

Intuition is a powerful guide. Sometimes I try to reason my way out of listening. But it rarely is a good thing. Thanks for joining the conversation :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34