It's 90 Degrees in my Bedroom...And My Glasses Keep Fogging up. Welcome to Portugal.

in #writing7 years ago

13892138_10155214935448902_7238523366938333609_n.jpg

It's hot. Not just a little...a lot. I have three fans going and I'm dying. Maybe for reals. Who knows? I'm chugging down water as fast as I can but, it's bloody hot!

No, my hair isn't fresh out of a shower wet in this picture, it's sweat. Gross, nasty, damn I need another shower sweat.

And yes, I keep having to take my glasses off because they steam up on my face.

I'm hoping one of my posts will get noticed again because...I really need an air conditioner. Here in Portugal people either live in apartments with AC units, have enough money to pay the cost of a portable AC, or try not to die. I'm in the "try not to die" category.

I can't work because it's too hot, which means I can't think, and, despite being exhausted, I can't sleep. Because, you know, it's too freaking hot to sleep! Even the dogs are grumpy, and they love everybody.

We'll see how it goes. I'm considering making one of those "at-home" jobs, but I'd have to move. The alternative is to get in the shower. Do you know what it's like to shower in a bathroom where cold water only exists in the sink? A nice, hot, steamy shower is not on my list of things to do.

I'll adventure on. Maybe I can find another fan. The sun is going down...we might get below 85 tonight. I hope. Anyway, that's all for now. Just a note, in case I truly do melt. Anybody have some more bottled water?

Sort:  

I have given you my nine cents. I'll be featuring you in Best of Steemit in about ten minutes, too, and if that gets you somewhere, maybe one day I'll come visit you in your air-conditioned apartment. Godspeed.

Whaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat? Wow! Thank you, seriously! I'd love a visit! :)

Never been to Portugal. France is as close as I've come.

I never in a million years would have dreamed I'd ever see Portugal myself. I landed in Paris once, on the way to Germany. Does that even count as being "in" a place? Portugal is beautiful and has a lot to offer, but it is hot as Hades in the summer.

Okay, then why are you there? I'd love to hear this story. Will you write it and post it so I can give you another dime?

Oh my, have you got a few days? That's a long story. But I'll start it, as you're the second person to ask me... :)

I love the way you write. Hope someone sent in their bottled water. I wouldn't want you to melt with your humour. Xoxo

I decided to live dangerously and drank some out of the tap, haha. :) Thanks for commenting, I appreciate it. As for my humour, it's about all I can muster at the moment. The sun IS going down so maybe it will cool off. I live in hope. :)

I'm going to do some jury rigging. We shall hillbilly our way through this

I think the ice has evaporated already, but I'll solider on. The sun has disappeared now. I told you I should have been born in Iceland! :)

I gave you my two cents, too. :-)

Awww! I heart you so much, Rhonda! <3

I heart you, too, Smuggly--my used-to-be-neighbor from over the mountain! :-)

A dip in a nice mountain spring would be so lovely right now. I do miss dipping my toes in those mountain waters! <3

Oh I remember that heat!

My family and I lived in the Algarve for a year. Our car's air conditioning died, and I'll never forget what it's like driving around in Portugal, in August with no air conditioning....

But now I'm back in Sheffield UK I miss it!

Rose coloured spectacles eh? :)

@johleen

I only just saw this! I'm a busy lady so I'm not always the most observant. It is so hot here now that I've just basically given up on not sweating until the rain starts in November. Then, I'll just be soaked from the non-stop rain. :)

My fella is from Sheffield, small world! Where were you in the Algarve? We're in the Faro district, away from the fires but not far enough. The smoke is getting terrible down here and I expect the pictures would have inspired a painting or two. All of this because some lady decided she wanted to relive the fire from Coimbra earlier this summer? It's crazy!

The sky is as rosy as your spectacles I imagine. :)

August on the Algarve with no air conditioning...again (!!) is almost soul-destroying to think about. I'm hoping to get one with my next payout, even a portable one will help. 32 degrees at 4 am is not good sleeping weather. I'd almost prefer Sheffield in January again over this! :)

Oh how funny, yes small world indeed! We lived in Silves - a gorgeous little town. :)

Wow, I just can't even imagine being there without air con in August!

I remember once walking home with my son from school in August and even though it was just a 30 minute walk, I was bright red and had to lie down on the cool tile floors when we got in!

Aw, the trouble with Sheffield in January is not the cold, it's the grey grey grey skies!! I miss the bright blue skies of Portugal!

I think it was January when I went. I took the train from Derbyshire to Sheffield and hung around for about an hour before I said, nope, let's make tracks back to the country. :) I went again not long after and it wasn't so bad, the sun was out. Then it started to snow. Is it Snake Pass, the back way out of Sheffield? The way that goes by Mam Tor? Absolutely took my breath away! I'd like to see it again, but perhaps not in January next time?

That's right - Snake Pass. Yep, you're right it's stunning, but I can definitely recommend heading back over in Spring or summer next time!

I'll have to talk him into it. :) I'd love to see it properly. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59329.35
ETH 2613.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44